outer-jessie's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

everything happens at once, except the things you need to have happen

FUCK YOU, you friggin piece of crap internet server.

As I was trying to tell you, last night could have gone better, but chose not to.

I rushed to the library after work yesterday and spent nearly two hours in front of the microfilm reader, with no success. Slight success: I printed out some amusing bits from the chronicles in the late teens, but found nothing relating to my great-great-grandmother herself. What I found very odd about these two chronicles I was looking at was that neither of them mentioned the end of WWI. Considering how much space they devoted to war-effort-related advertisements and editorials, you would think not that not mentioning the armistice was a bit of an oversight. I don't get that.

So this Christmas present for my grandmother would be a total bust, if I didn't have a backup plan. Remember the people who live in my great-great-grandmother's house now? The ones I so rudely barged in on last spring? The female head of the house knew a lot about the former residents, much more than I could find out on my own. If I could persuade her to talk to me again, even after my complete lack of manners, maybe I could dig up something presentable.

Possessed by this idea, I rushed back out of the library. I stopped on the way to pick up juice for sick Anna, which I dropped off at her place super quick, picking up my bread pan while I was there. Then I rushed to Harvard Square to look for something for my friend Ann whose work party I'm attending tonight, and I found it. Only I didn't buy it. I saw the exact perfect thing on my way out of one store, then I stopped to browse at another and grab a quick bite to eat, and in the course of that twenty minutes or so, the first store had closed. Dammit! Which I said out loud in front of others, how embarrassing. So great, I have to go back there today after work, with the no time I have.

When I finally got home it was not quite seven, just enough time to complete my plan: cranberry bread. I owe the 104 1/2 family a peace offering for what they did for me last spring...last spring, can you believe it?! I can't believe I waited this long to thank them. But anyway, I slaved away at that cranberry bread, and while it was baking I got all ready for today, and while I got all ready for today, it got all burny and smoky and made the next-door neighbors stop by and politely inquire as to whether or not I was burning the whole place down. No, but thank you for asking, from outside my door because I'm too paranoid to let you in.

So, the bread was not a thing of beauty, but still edible, I think. It would have helped if I had not been baking it at 25 degrees hotter than I was supposed to. Woops. Although it was very fragrant, it was still giftable and presumably still very tasty. So I wrapped it up in foil and put it in a gift bag with an explanatory card. Very explanatory. I was thinking the card had a back, and filled up the two inside pages and would have written more if there wasn't some shiny Renoir happening on the other side. I hope I got my point across. I hope she calls me and offers me details. I hope no one chokes on a burnt cranberry and has to be rushed to the hospital.

And speaking of being called, I'm already nervous about the fact that Mrs. F hasn't gotten back to me yet. Yes, I've given her exactly one day to do so, but the longer it takes, the less hope I'll hold out that those negatives are going to be found.

So what's tonight? Tonight is Get Ann's Present Day. Today is Clean Up the Apartment and Pick Up Some Food for the Guests Day. Today is Go to Ann's Work Party and Try Not to Laugh at the Idiots Day. Today is Watch Charlie Brown With Random Assorted People Day.

I guess it's not so bad. I'll pick up Ann's present right after work and can probably still get home by 4:30ish. Then I'll have two hours to clean and get food before Ann comes. If it doesn't rain, we'll be back before nine and then we'll all watch Charlie Brown. I think I can squeeze it all in.

Tomorrow is the only day of the last weekend before my last week here at this job. I've decided to dedicate it to the gym. Half an hour of cardio, then a full circuit. Then maybe some more cardio. I am shocked, SHOCKED, by this unsightly weight gain.

I work on Sunday, then Rob has the night off. Which is good because I don't have my usual late night this week, because I have to be at a work-related thing at 10:30 Monday morning, as opposed to noon. A good thing, because I have to make a pie for the holiday work party on Tuesday. I hope Tuesday and Wednesday nights are normal nights, because I'm gonna hafta pack like a mofo.

My credit card is still lost, but is not lost at the last place I used it. I guess that's good. I think I forgot to take my pill last night. That's bad, but not bad enough that we'll need to use condoms for the next nine weeks.

I've become a scatterbrain, but a controlled scatterbrain.

I'm just proud I managed to get out of bed ten minutes early to deliver that cranberry bread. I am truly astounding.

9:35 a.m. - 2002-12-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

polarity
annanotbob2
atwowaydream
gomeny
planetpink
fa11
astralounge
shot-of-tea
banana3159
o-twinkle-o
sparkspark
evilyoyo
marn
teenmommie
graagh
shevdevil
nessa24601
idiot-milk
onepinksock
moonshine76
linguafranca
giallothang
friskyseal
annanotbob
leotard
trapeze-act
killsbury
plastroncafe
jwinokur
Andrew
seattle-rain
boombasticat
do-dolen