outer-jessie's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the work of art that is I

Honestly, I wouldn't put this in here if it wasn't a remarkable coincidence that I just had a Botticelli's Birth of Venus kind of day. I'll give you the anecdote in a moment, but first I wanted to write the disclaimer.

Alright, it's a lie, I admit it, I would have put it here even if it was completely irrelevant. But lookit! Look what piece of art I am! I'm so proud.

If I were a work of art, I would be Sandro Botticelli's Birth of Venus.

I am a beautiful and alluring composition, not afraid to show off a good deal of bare flesh. People surround me and gaze at me with the adulation due a goddess and friendly breezes gently push me along my path in life.

Which work of art would you be? The Art Test

I wrote this at Harvard today, just before my class, and it's horribly written, but it was RIGHT BEFORE CLASS and sue me if I'm not particularly poetic directly before partaking in linear algebra. I had just about made up my mind to thoroughly rework it, but I'm too damn excited about how closely and uncannily it resembles the piece of artwork that is I. Stupid, I know. But fraudulent, I promise you, it is not. I did write it, and it's awful, but it's for real.

"I've been afflicted by that mysterious springtime feeling today. The weather is soft and lovely. Look how green the grass is; look how the light is falling on those trees! I'm sure that just beyond Harvard Yard, just behind the Science Center [where my class is held], the blue sky is sailing over Manomet Bay [Jessie hangs head in shame. What cheese]. I'm suffering under the delusion that I am looking very beautiful, and my limbs are floating delicately on the air [it really did seem that way. I felt as graceful as a something really graceful!]. I am the stuff of romantic fantasies [would that it were true], and there is a delightful nymph-like girl around the corner, waiting for my eyes [would that *that* were true]. I only have to find her...

The weather gets to me a little. Damn coastal climate, with your May-like days in December! It's just a cruel trick to make my fancies turn to love [that's a painful misquote right there. Isn't it?]. It's funny how last night I was bemoaning my own decay and crying for the end of Prancer [true story], and today I feel light as a fairy [I'm pretty sure that's not what I meant]. I make no sense, a little bit [that's right]. I should consider doing some actual work, rather than flitting around on my imaginings all day [and that means...?]

This may be the fault of that cute girl on the T [she was a very cute girl, kept looking at her profile in the glass. It was a very cute profile]."

I want you all to know that I purchased a Sea Monkeys on Mars kit today. I intend to give it to an unsuspecting relative.

Ha ha ha, I just reread the description from the quiz and it is hilariously un-me.

3:19 p.m. - 2001-12-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

polarity
annanotbob2
atwowaydream
gomeny
planetpink
fa11
astralounge
shot-of-tea
banana3159
o-twinkle-o
sparkspark
evilyoyo
marn
teenmommie
graagh
shevdevil
nessa24601
idiot-milk
onepinksock
moonshine76
linguafranca
giallothang
friskyseal
annanotbob
leotard
trapeze-act
killsbury
plastroncafe
jwinokur
Andrew
seattle-rain
boombasticat
do-dolen