outer-jessie's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A boring entry about work stuff

Ahem. This is going to be incredibly boring. Bear with, or be gone.

I am writing a syllabus. Actually I'm not yet, because I'm still in the pre-writing about what I'm going to write in my syllabus. Roger that? I need to get a syllabus for my summer Astro 101 class punched out by about 1:30 (hopefully much much earlier, as that's still 3.5 hours away), but I'm still talking to myself in my electronic journal about what I want to do with the class. And now I'm writing about writing in my electronic journal about writing a syllabus in my online journal. Existential-y.

No, it's not. Shut up.

Now that I'm getting to be kind of a grown-up, I'm getting to be able to do the things I want to do, after much MUCH waiting and working and wishing and whining. Long and too-detail-dependent-for-writing-about story short, I'm getting to teach an intro astronomy course at a tribal college this summer, which I've been wanting to do for about 5 years now, and which I hope to be able to do a lot in the future...like for a living.

Only now that I've got my wish, I don't know what to do with it! I have had so many ideas about this moment over the years of my graduate career, that I no longer have any ideas. I don't know where to start. So now, even though this is the awesomest thing to happen to me professionally, the best I can hope is to not completely suck while I'm out there.

I am thoughtful and I am earnest, but I am also pretty much the world's worst teacher. So far.

It turns out thusly: I can write pretty good curriculum, and I can present material in a fairly pedagogically sound fashion. But if I have to do both AT THE SAME TIME, forget it.

Which puts a major damper on my dissertation research, which is all about doing that. I.e. developing curriculum and teaching it. (This is the short and not very compelling version.)

Oh well. Back to writing about the writing of my syllabus, and then on to actually writing the writing of the syllabus.

Meanwhile, I'm eating lukewarm broccoli salad in the library, and I'm terrified that someone's going to catch me doing it and yell at me. Plus I'm wearing my Skype headset to listen to my mp3s because I lost my regular headphones, and I keep thinking the mouthpiece which is tucked attractively up by my eye is somebody sneaking up on me and it's freaking me out.

Over and out! Oh, by the way, my diary is not this color on purpose by any means. I made the background black on purpose, and then I made the text gray by accident and I can't figure out how to fix it. In case you happen to be html savvy and also a do-gooder.

9:57 a.m. - 2008-06-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

polarity
annanotbob2
atwowaydream
gomeny
planetpink
fa11
astralounge
shot-of-tea
banana3159
o-twinkle-o
sparkspark
evilyoyo
marn
teenmommie
graagh
shevdevil
nessa24601
idiot-milk
onepinksock
moonshine76
linguafranca
giallothang
friskyseal
annanotbob
leotard
trapeze-act
killsbury
plastroncafe
jwinokur
Andrew
seattle-rain
boombasticat
do-dolen