outer-jessie's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

unwelcome

Where were you before you were here?

I was at home, in bed, asleep, many hours ago. Suddenly, from within my dreams, I was awash with the sickening realization that I was not alone in my apartment. That there was someone there near the kitchen doorway, someone lurking.

Scared, I turned over in my bed, away from the kitchen. I told myself it was just a nightmare, I was just halfway between sleeping and waking, I was just seeing things where things weren't.

Unfortunately, I was wrong.

Perhaps a half an hour later, I was slowly becoming conscious of a low, muted symphony in the kitchen. A collection of sounds that seemed to amplify in volume as my ears tuned in. It was there, sure enough, not twenty feet from my body. A chorus of gleeful, frightened, anxious, greedy...squeaks.

I crept to out of bed, wrath boiling in my blood. The lightbulb sprang to life with a furious bolt of light, showering photons on the cacophony in the kitchen. I reeled in after them.

"What are you doing? What the FUCK do you think you're doing? Get out! Get out! Get off of there! Go away!"

I stomped and stamped and shouted and fumed. Little brown bodies flashed into shadows. All was silent. Funny how they'll shriek with satisfaction, but never with fear.

I was at a loss. They had been on my kitchen table. They had been in my backpack. They had been in my lunch. They had been in my fruitbowl. Just when I thought I had starved them out of my apartment, they have a fiesta at my expense and don't even invite me.

2:17 p.m. - 2002-02-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

polarity
annanotbob2
atwowaydream
gomeny
planetpink
fa11
astralounge
shot-of-tea
banana3159
o-twinkle-o
sparkspark
evilyoyo
marn
teenmommie
graagh
shevdevil
nessa24601
idiot-milk
onepinksock
moonshine76
linguafranca
giallothang
friskyseal
annanotbob
leotard
trapeze-act
killsbury
plastroncafe
jwinokur
Andrew
seattle-rain
boombasticat
do-dolen