outer-jessie's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Should I teach?

Have you ever really *been* lost in space?

She loves you, yeah, yeah, yeah! She loves you, ooh, ooh, ooh!

You'd have to have seen Peggy Sue Got Married to understand that morsel.

I just bought myself piano lessons with some Christmas / graduation money from my Nana. I'm so excited. They start on Friday! I only bought and only could afford four lessons, but that's a good start. I haven't taken lessons since before I graduated from high school, and even then just for a few months. That teacher didn't really have a good grasp of the instrument, and she passed on nothing of merit to me. This will be better, I think, because this company consists of professionals. I do love the piano, and I want very much to be able to play it beautifully like my cousins and, um, Jack from Will and Grace. And all the others. You know who you are.

Have I told you that I got only two (2) books for Christmas? It's terribly sad, isn't it. One was from Rob, being the Bedside Karma Sutra. I turned against it after reading its recommendation of how a woman should treat a man. I still wouldn't mind trying out it's positions, but some of them look like they'll induce some very unromantic wind-passing noises from my body parts. We'll see. We're still on a quest for my G spot. I know it's in there somewhere. My god, why am I talking about this?

.....the other book was the Pre-History of the Far Side, which I have sadly already finished. But it contained some fabulous cartoons that I must share with you, just not right now cause I can't remember them.

I had things to say - big, important things. Oh yeah! *giggles* I was going to talk about Pride and Prejudice. I saw it on A&E the other day, most of it, and I thought it was great. Their Lizzie was so beautiful! She was angelic. But the thing I found most notable was that after watching it, all my thoughts came to me in a British accent. I am just that suggestible. And I always talk to Rob in accents, a thing I find most annoying when I catch myself doing it. We hardly ever talk in our normal voices, except on the phone. Are we ever ourselves?

What do you think, guys; I really need to know: am I too scatter-brained, cynical, irreverent, opinionated to be a teacher? I am seriously considering teaching for a couple of years, and although you don't know me well, tell me what kind of teacher you think I'd make. Is it an awful idea? Would I scar too many children? It takes me such a long time to come up with good arguments for certain things (like, "why can't we see heaven from space?" or "why should I listen to you?") and I talk very fast, which is definitely a hindrance to my public speaking. But I would so love to teach astronomy to kids, and I think I could really make them love it. Advice, if you please.

(outer-jessie wanders away to try applying for Teach for America)

2:41 p.m. - 2002-01-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

polarity
annanotbob2
atwowaydream
gomeny
planetpink
fa11
astralounge
shot-of-tea
banana3159
o-twinkle-o
sparkspark
evilyoyo
marn
teenmommie
graagh
shevdevil
nessa24601
idiot-milk
onepinksock
moonshine76
linguafranca
giallothang
friskyseal
annanotbob
leotard
trapeze-act
killsbury
plastroncafe
jwinokur
Andrew
seattle-rain
boombasticat
do-dolen