outer-jessie's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Parental persuasion

When I graduated college, it was all about you.

When I fell in love for the first time, it was all about you.

When I got married, it was all about you.

And when I got divorced, it was all about you.

You know what? This may come as a bit of a surprise, but I actually don't just live my life so that things can happen to my parents. They may argue otherwise, but I assure you, I mainly live my life so that things can happen to ME. It's weird and it's shocking, but what can I say, I'm a freak.

You might think, when a person goes through a life-changing event, pretty much sets forth on a whole new track, that her parents would be concerned about how she's handling it, if she needs any help or a shoulder to cry on, if perhaps she requires parental support of any kind. Now I expected the "how could you do this to ME", "look what you're doing to US", "your actions affect more than YOU" kind of comments, believe me, and I think they're well-founded. But I should have known the response to my "this is actually happening to ME, you know, and it's hard for ME" comment would be "it's not hard for YOU, it was your decision." As if my decision was entirely selfish, as if it didn't require any deep thought or difficult choices or tears or sadness or loss. As if I were some kind of mindless, unfeeling hurricane that blew through and messed things up and was on its merry way.

I've been through this before, I know the drill. I just didn't expect it would be so EXACTLY the same as it was last time.

8:53 a.m. - 2008-05-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

polarity
annanotbob2
atwowaydream
gomeny
planetpink
fa11
astralounge
shot-of-tea
banana3159
o-twinkle-o
sparkspark
evilyoyo
marn
teenmommie
graagh
shevdevil
nessa24601
idiot-milk
onepinksock
moonshine76
linguafranca
giallothang
friskyseal
annanotbob
leotard
trapeze-act
killsbury
plastroncafe
jwinokur
Andrew
seattle-rain
boombasticat
do-dolen