outer-jessie's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

note from the editor

Doh! Ok, the cabbie has corrected me, because she is far more learned than I, or has a better memory, or both. Quoted from my guestbook, here is what she says:

"The guy on the left is an elongated planetary nebula, if I remember the lecture...I think hourglass would be a much better name for it, though. It happens when the first ejection by an old, low-mass star of its outer layers is doughnut-shaped, and subsequent ejections but make their way around the pastry barricade."

So you see I was wrong, this is not a supernova remnant of a massive star, this is somewhat more docile expulsion from a low-mass star. The only reason I can think of why a star would expel in a doughnut shape...which is bound to be only one of many possibilities...is that it initially flung matter out from its equator because the gravity was weakest there. It should be flang, shouldn't it. Flang should be a word. Oh yes, the cabbie goes on to lavish praises on Ginger and rightly so. I just thought Ging would like to see that upfront :)

It rained hard a few minutes ago, and now all the cars that I can see have their headlights reflected off the wet street. It makes them look sad, like they're crying. (shiver) But cars don't have feelings, Jessie. I bet all the people in the cars are very happy that it rained.

Mm.

Welp, it's Tuesday, but it's Thursday! I LOVE short weeks. Two days until Thanksgiving, and my ingredients for the cornbread casserole are all purchased and ready to go. I bought the VERY LAST package of cornbread mix in the store. When I went the first time there was none whatsoever. My panic was short-lived, but profound. ;)

No more smilies! Enough with the smilies!

Ugh. Cabbie, I can see the "artist's rendition scientific reenactment" of the event that creates a thing like the picture on the right. And yet I don't know what it is. It must be highly energetic to send matter such distances, but why the shape? Damned if I can remember. But have you heard about the spiral disturbances in the elliptical galaxy that Chandra saw? I'm still pondering over that one. The speaker giving the lecture suggested that the galaxy once had a black hole that had caused the eddies, and that the black hole had since, um, left somehow, but I can't for the life of me think of what could happen to get rid of a black hole that wouldn't disturb the shape it made in the galaxy.

Open for discussion I am.

I am of the opinion that mangos are only delicious in beverage form. Please make note.

(Jessie buries her head in diaryland's neck.) Good night.

8:49 a.m. - 2001-11-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

polarity
annanotbob2
atwowaydream
gomeny
planetpink
fa11
astralounge
shot-of-tea
banana3159
o-twinkle-o
sparkspark
evilyoyo
marn
teenmommie
graagh
shevdevil
nessa24601
idiot-milk
onepinksock
moonshine76
linguafranca
giallothang
friskyseal
annanotbob
leotard
trapeze-act
killsbury
plastroncafe
jwinokur
Andrew
seattle-rain
boombasticat
do-dolen