outer-jessie's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

elephants

I'm so tired. I haven't been able to sleep well all week. I need to get enormous amounts of sleep time tonight, and that is just not going to happen. I just hope I don't fall asleep in the dentist chair this afternoon, because that would be horrifying.

Dentist, emergency shoe shopping, bank, emergency laundry, wash dishes, pack luggage, file nails, shave legs, feed bird, tidy apartment, eat dinner, take pill, sleeeeeeeep.

Nothing was accomplished trip-wise last night, except for more restless slumber. But Rob and I did attend our dance class (unfortunately Rob was not quite drunk enough) and I danced with several people I'd never met and was whisked all around the floor (laughing). Rob still refuses to execute any maneuver besides the standard foxtrot step when under pressure, so all his hapless dance partners became very well acquainted with that. Bonus: during one partner-switch, he ended up partnerless and got to have a few moments of a private lesson with the instructor. Unfortunately, I don't think he took too much instructing to heart.

After that we went to the Harvard Coop and picked up a few little things for my friends in Arizona, and by the time we got back to the apartment, our beef stew was bubbling and oozing good-smelling aromas. We ate heaps of it while boiling up two enormous artichokes, which we polished off despite the negative space in our bellies. Then Vermont maple sugar candy. Mmmmm.

I know you love the food recaps, and that is why I share these things. Oh! That reminds me. We went to my parents' for the [American] football game on Sunday, and I had nothing in the house to bring, so I whipped up the only recipe for which I had all the ingredients: Marn's Grandmother's Peanut Butter Cookies. They were so fabulous. There was not a one left (although several of the little kids left theirs in crumbly heaps in odd places).

I think we've accidentally spoiled the bird. It's all hopped up on freedom and now it doesn't want to spend any time in the cage. We spent at least ten minutes trying to get it to go to bed last night. Every time I'd go to grab it, it would take off and land someplace new -- or back on Rob's head which is ever-so-slightly out of my reach. Finally Rob turned the lights off, hoping that would make it realize it was sleepy time, but that resulted in a panicked fitful flight around the room, involving smacking into walls and knocking the Scooby Doo picture off the tv and ramming its head on the cage door. When the lights went back on and it landed on my arm, it was panting! Do birds pant? Its little tongue was going up and down and its tiny chest was heaving, and it held its folded wings out at a peculiar angle, like you might do if it hurt to put your arms down at your side for some reason. I was worried that it had really hurt itself, but this morning it seemed ok. Still...it needs to learn to behave. It especially needs to learn that its pointy little beak doles out a spiky dose of pain when clamped together on skin. Rob's arm is covered in tiny red spots.

I'm still scared about this trip. Scared I won't come back from it, that is. And no, Greg, I'm not talking about cancelling our plans for your sake, I'm saying a) I'll probably be really tired and extremely irritable, and b) I don't know if airport security will even allow it. But who knows, it depends on the ways (and wharefores) of the Phoenix airport, which I don't remember at all. But if you can't get in the terminal and I can't get out, the whole thing will be fruitless.

I'm not worried about it. I have lots of other things to worry about.

Like waking up on time on Friday morning. Like making a good impression on each and every one of the assorted people who will be deciding my grad school fate. Like not burning up in a forest fire in California. And this dentist's appointment. What will happen to me there?!?

Lest you should say, "don't worry, it'll be fine," let me assure you that I don't worry for worrying's sake, I worry because I can't help it. Don't think about elephants.

Goodnight.

10:21 a.m. - 2002-09-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

polarity
annanotbob2
atwowaydream
gomeny
planetpink
fa11
astralounge
shot-of-tea
banana3159
o-twinkle-o
sparkspark
evilyoyo
marn
teenmommie
graagh
shevdevil
nessa24601
idiot-milk
onepinksock
moonshine76
linguafranca
giallothang
friskyseal
annanotbob
leotard
trapeze-act
killsbury
plastroncafe
jwinokur
Andrew
seattle-rain
boombasticat
do-dolen