outer-jessie's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

swimming, n'stuff

"If you needed to pick a moment where the last protohuman "ape" became the first "person", I think a good arbitrary moment would be the first time they looked up at the sky and thought that that cloud up there looked just like a lion..." [link]

I think that's one of the coolest things I've ever read. That, and the fact(?) that Florence Nightingale carried a pet owl in her pocket everywhere she went.

How is everyone today? The day certainly seems to have a surreal feeling to it today -- gloomy rain, no cars on the streets, nary a word of verbal communication here in my office for more than an hour...very "I'm not really here right now". Which is more or less true, since my mind is usually a hundred thousand mindmiles away when I'm at work, but no more so today than any other day, despite impending vacation.

Funny how the flavor of atheists of which I am a member is certain of it's own correctness and the wrongness of all theists. And funny how the theists feel the same way, vice versa. Actually, it's not funny at all. Actually, that's how it is for two sides of any story. Alack.

Alack, not to mention, never mind.

Hm. Who of you believes that in the beginning, there was chaos, and then order was created? Can you extrapolate on this point of view? I've never heard it put in just that way before, but....oh lawdy, let's just drop this now.

I'm worried that there was but one response to yesterday's entry. I've reread it two or three times to see if it was so offensive it shocked you all into silence, but I don't see anything too awful about it, so I'm concluding it just didn't move you to respond. That's fine. But I would like to be sure no one's mad at me about it. Specifically, Estree.

Hey...I think my sixth grade science and math teacher is now the Massachusetts Education Commissioner. *goes to research this possibility* Nope, guess not, this picture is definitely not of the guy I know. Forget it, and then some.

Very quiet in chat today. Eerily quiet. If I woke up some hours from now and discovered this day didn't ever exist, I would be less than surprised.

Damn. Wish I had packed tuna for lunch today.

I do not, in fact, have anything interesting or entertaining to say today. I hope you've noticed that by now.

Tonight is just going to open my eyes to a world of fun. After an incredibly invigorating and inspiring final romp in the mall, I'll have one brief and meaningless jaunt over to the Boston Public Library, after which heading home for a Jessie-catered original masterpiece of a dinner courtesy of Oodles of Noodles, followed by an all expenses paid, top to bottom, soup to nuts Apartment Cleaning Adventure. Sometimes, I have to pinch myself to see if it's all really real.

I did go swimming yesterday, all by my lonesome, following Peachie's advice to do so. My tendency in these situations is to take the lazy way out and just not do anything. Because Anna wasn't going to go, I assumed I'd most likely not end up going either, much like when I thought I'd go sign up ahead of time, but didn't. But the definitive "yes, do it" was sufficient coercion. I have to learn to be self-disciplined, I have to care about my health enough to work on it unsupervised. Taking the easy way out in this case could very well get me the mondo Easy Way Out, an option which does not please me.

So I've been swimming about a half a mile each time I go. Takes me about a half hour, but it's exhausting. I'd like to work up to a mile by the end of the summer, maybe more. It would be nice, though, to be able to swim it continuously. There should be swimming tracks! Although one side of your body would get stronger by leading on the curves...there'd have to be clockwise and counter-clockwise lap swimming.

I'm putting this entry out of its misery.

10:38 a.m. - 2002-05-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

polarity
annanotbob2
atwowaydream
gomeny
planetpink
fa11
astralounge
shot-of-tea
banana3159
o-twinkle-o
sparkspark
evilyoyo
marn
teenmommie
graagh
shevdevil
nessa24601
idiot-milk
onepinksock
moonshine76
linguafranca
giallothang
friskyseal
annanotbob
leotard
trapeze-act
killsbury
plastroncafe
jwinokur
Andrew
seattle-rain
boombasticat
do-dolen