outer-jessie's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

65 things about me

Me: "When we have a place, we should put colorforms in the windows. Even though we don't have kids."

Rob: "What are colorforms?"

Me: "You don't know what colorforms are?! How could you not know what colorforms are?"

Rob: "I know what chloroform is..."

Me: (describes colorforms in detail)..."You don't really know what chloroform is, do you."

Rob: (shakes head)

A new development has developed. Hence the name. Rob's aunt and sister are trying to put together a family cruise for early May, down to Cozumel and Grand Cayman Island. Geographically, I have no idea where those things are, besides south. Rob also mentioned New Orleans, but I find that so hard to believe that I'm going to disregard it and pretend I never heard it. Two things that scare me about this plan: 1) the price. Seems way too cheap for a real vacation. 2) Being on a cruise with Rob's family.

There's nothing wrong with Rob's family. They're crazy, loud and sarcastic, like my family. But they're not my family. Not yet.

Of course, what better way to make a ragtag bunch of people your family than to cruise around the Caribbean with them in an enormous cruise ship?

Never mind. Don't answer that.

If we do decide to go, and I'm sure we will, I intend to get really excited about going to these places. I've never been to the Caribbean. I've never been to Mexico. (snort) Well I tried to go to Mexico, but it didn't actually work out.

Without further ado, one hundred trivia about me. Possibly not all at once, because my attention span might not go the distance.

1) I'm an Italian, Polish, Irish-French-Canadian-American, Welsh, German, French mutt.

2) I stand no taller than 5'2", and actually a bit shorter than it.

3) I was the teacher's pet all through elementary school. This only happened because the kids in my classes knew the meaning of the term "teacher's pet."

4) I wanted to be a mermaid when I grew up.

5) I also wanted to be a lawyer, a teacher, a psychologist, and a translator when I grew up, but these fantasies were actually based in an approximate reality.

6) I had an affair with a married man. When I was 16.

7) I've had no fewer than five best friends. I loved each as well as the last. I've never been able to keep any of them for longer than three years.

8) I'm the pride of my family, academically speaking. Because no one understands what I've done.

9) I love the ocean more than any other planetary feature I've ever seen.

10) I don't believe in life after death.

11) My favorite number is 9.

12) My favorite color is gray, but I have nothing in particular against any color, in the right context.

13) As a general rule, orange is my least favorite color, with yellow a close second, unless we're talking about sunsets.

14) I played field hockey in junior high.

15) I've been to Spain, France, Belgium and England, but not for long enough.

16) I speak Spanish and German and can fake French if I'm around French-speakers.

17) My favorite English word is violence. My favorite Spanish word is melocoton. My favorite German word is Mensch. Or Acht.

18) I have a favorite stall in the women's bathroom at work.

19) I ignore handsome men unless they're more than just handsome.

20) I do the same thing to beautiful women.

21) Injustice hurts me like physical pain.

22) I make wishes whenever I have a valid excuse to do so. Eyelashes, necklace clasps, 11:11, birthday cakes, you name it.

23) I have chronic hiccups.

24) I got several rare diseases when I was a kid.

25) I talk to, get mad at, and love certain inanimate objects.

26) I talk as fast as the Micro Machine guy, normally.

27) Rainy days are beautiful to me.

28) I love children, and they love me, but I don't want any of my own.

29) I hate hair.

30) I don't kill spiders.

31) One of my greatest joys in life is sleeping next to Rob.

32) I love discovering things.

33) Spending time with my good friends makes me healthier.

34) Feeling like a housewife makes me exceedingly resentful.

35) I love to read.

36) I grew up in towns that are at least three hundred years old. My parents' house was built before 1690.

37) My first best friend and I named and made friends with trees.

38) I don't believe in astrology. I believe in astronomy.

39) I'm bisexual. But I've only ever had sex with one person.

40) I like to climb trees and fly kites.

41) I love to cook but suck at it.

42) Every once in a great while, I cry after sex, and I have no idea why. (Women? Anyone know what this is?)

43) I believe in aliens, but I don't believe any have come here.

44) My favorite vegetable is spinach.

45) I was going to be the bad cop, and she was going to be the good cop, but it ended up the other way around. She was a very very bad cop.

46) I used to know how to talk to squirrels. Apparently, what I learned to say was, "Stand up on your hind legs and look at me, then make like you're going to chase me."

47) I scuba dive.

48) I have a vivid imagination, but can't draw, paint, write music or sculpt :)

49) I used to be a good actress.

50) I've never told anybody my worst secret. I wouldn't even confess it to priests, when I believed that's what I should do.

51) I always defended the kids who were picked on in school.

52) I was in a gifted and talented program when I was in school. I got picked on sometimes too, but I don't remember it.

53) I was in a car accident when I was eight, and fell into a coma for a few days. I never realized how serious that was, until very recently.

54) My first dog's name was Crumpets.

55) The most recent animal addition to the family, a little blue parakeet, never got named. We just call it Bird.

56) I failed my driving test the first time.

57) I've never owned a car.

58) I think my mother is the coolest person I know. And I don't get her. And I know a lot of cool people.

59) I'm left-handed.

60) I don't wear any rings.

61) I've been engaged for almost three years. I can't remember when Rob and I knew we were going to get married. It was way longer ago than that.

62) Chick flicks annoy me.

63) Strangely, I have one older cousin on each side of the family. Both are male, the same age, and as much of black sheeps as the family can tolerate.

64) My grandmother thinks she's psychic. The other females in the family think she is too. Besides me.

65) All the seasons are my favorite, except winter.

More later.

2:16 p.m. - 2002-02-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

polarity
annanotbob2
atwowaydream
gomeny
planetpink
fa11
astralounge
shot-of-tea
banana3159
o-twinkle-o
sparkspark
evilyoyo
marn
teenmommie
graagh
shevdevil
nessa24601
idiot-milk
onepinksock
moonshine76
linguafranca
giallothang
friskyseal
annanotbob
leotard
trapeze-act
killsbury
plastroncafe
jwinokur
Andrew
seattle-rain
boombasticat
do-dolen