outer-jessie's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

NOT possessing a case of the Mondays?

Ever stare at yourself in the mirror to see who comes out? After a while it stops being you at all, and turns into a morphing image flickering fleeting glimpses of your assorted relatives. I mostly see my mother. I can see how that may become a great comfort to me, somewhere down the line. I can also see how it may become a source of great out-freakage.

I may have to keep the mirror staring to a minimum.

How was your weekend? Mine was semi-eventful. Friday I spent my week's grocery alottment on the ingredients for my avocado salad, and envisioned picking up a webcam for my sister at the CompUSA across from the grocery store. Sadly, that chunk of capitalism was no longer in existence, so I went to the computer store nearest my apartment on Saturday. I picked out a webcam that I thought looked decent, but I'll keep the receipt until my brother's had a look at it. He knows about such hooey.

I lovingly crafted my salad Saturday morning, and it came out pretty decent, although the oil in the dressing ended up separating out and making the concoction look unfit for human consumption. Which was not so! But people seemed to like the salad, even if they refused to douse it in slimy but delicious greenish-orange slop.

The party was a lot of fun, and Rob did a LOT better trying to be social. It was nice because we were the first ones there, and people slowly trickled in thereafter, so it was kind of an easy transition. I was very proud of him, and told him so. Of course he only stayed for two hours, but hey, Dunkin Donuts calls.

I stopped by my friend Emily's house afterward to catch up, and we played a sheet of Yahtzee and talked and had fun. It takes a little while to get her to warm up to me, but after that it's like nothing's changed. And what has anyway?

I stayed at my parents' Saturday night, which was kind of nice. I forget how dark it is there -- there's one streetlight between Emily's house and my parents', about a ten minute walk. I figured, psht, I'm used to Boston, I can handle a little Cape town, but it was SO dark! But then, there's no danger, so it all evens out...although you do have to make plenty of noise so the raccoons and skunks are aware of you. The major major bonus of so much darkness is copious starlight. WOW. If I can be impressed by foggy humid Cape Cod skies, imagine how rapturous I'll be when I'm back in Arizona for a night.

Sunday morning my one other remaining high school friend, Melissa, and I visited Emily at work for a little bit. We rarely get have a chance to get together, and since we're the last remaining vestiges of our high school posse, it's kind of like we're holding onto something that no longer exists...and then again, it's not. Because some people matter, and the rest don't.

The rest of my Sunday started early, because Rob left to go to work at 3 instead of the usual 5. There then proceeded such a bonanza of productivity, the likes of which has not been seen by Jessie on a Sunday since she was a college student with a final due on Monday. I ate dinner, packed a lunch, and washed all my dishes by six, then I jogged for, GET THIS, twelve minutes straight. Woo! Considering that my usual jog and cool-down routine normally lasts no longer than ten minutes, twelve minutes of just jogging is something to be proud of. And dammit, I am. It's still sad and pathetic that that's the best I can do, but it's still better than my former best I can do.

Ok, and if you got that no problem, then GET THIS. After I got home and showered (and watched King of the Hill), I turned the tv to the "off" state of being, and it remained so for, I'm not kidding, more than an hour and a half. During the Sunday night line-up! Sure, it was all reruns I had seen before, but consider this: I used this time to STUDY PHYSICS. I'm going to give you a moment to fully absorb the monumentosity of this monument.

I took that GRE Physics review book, and I highlit for all I was worth. Or all the highlighter was worth, at least, since I think it's on its last legs. Anyway, I went from Lagrangian mechanics to electromagnetism to thermodynamics to quantum, boom boom boom. I'd heard it before, but I never believed it: thermo is cool! Cool, in this context, meaning easy and understandable. Yeah! I'm totally going to ace any thermo questions on this test. Let's just pretend last night wasn't the first time I'd ever laid eyes on Lagrangian mechanics. Yeah! Thermo!

I was proud. I actually picked up a physics-related text and read twenty pages of it. I hadn't touched its deceitful bright-purple-covered foulness since that night Rob and I undid the damage the cruise had done. If I spend an hour and a half a night, three or four days a week, every week until the test, I might actually get a score that's not in the 13th percentile. Like the score I got last time.

This week at work may not (knock on wood) even suck too hardcore, since I'm in charge of backups while the supervisor is off observing at Mount Somewhere for the week, AND I've made a conscious and immutable decision to classify at least five to ten spectra a day henceforth until the day I leave this state. These activities ought to keep me hopping and maybe even something slightly akin to happy, by providing me with that special glow of someone who thinks she's a useful member of this faux community.

Regretting to inform you I have nothing of any actual interest to say today. Unless you think the fact that I'm putting apples in my tuna again of actual interest.

11:13 a.m. - 2002-06-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

polarity
annanotbob2
atwowaydream
gomeny
planetpink
fa11
astralounge
shot-of-tea
banana3159
o-twinkle-o
sparkspark
evilyoyo
marn
teenmommie
graagh
shevdevil
nessa24601
idiot-milk
onepinksock
moonshine76
linguafranca
giallothang
friskyseal
annanotbob
leotard
trapeze-act
killsbury
plastroncafe
jwinokur
Andrew
seattle-rain
boombasticat
do-dolen