outer-jessie's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Easteresearch


I feel like I'm riding high on the top of a wave. No telling if it's the kind of wave that will push you gently up on shore or slam you upside-down into some rocks, but there's no preparing for it either way, and from up here things are feeling pretty good so let's just ride.

Know what I mean?

We are going on vacation to San Diego in two days. I have to finish two posters, and their associated handouts, for the conference we're purportedly going to San Diego for, and I have class tonight and teach tomorrow, but what's two days compared to the promise of sunny beaches and late nights?

We're also moving in three or four weeks. To a more expensive but still ridiculously cheap place with a gorgeous view and twice the space. The office won't accept UPS packages for some retarded reason, but other than that mild inconvenience it all seems great. Those may be some not-very-famous last words right there, but like I said, the wave is high and cresty from where I'm sitting.

Although I did resoundly NOT get the fellowship I was so banking on for next year, today I found out that the application deadline for another one has been extended. So help me, I'm applying. I think it can be done, so I will do it, and then it will be done. Glory to me in the highest. Amen. There is probably a slightly greater chance that I'll be able to nab this one, since its recipients will be from a pool of people who are ABD faculty members at tribal colleges (surely not a large population), and because the lady in charge said my research sounded interesting. Damn right it is.

I love my research. Again. I finally received approval to use all my old data again, so I looked at it just now for the first time since I collected it. And it is spectacular. If I can do it the slightest bit of justice when I analyze it and write it up, it's going to be a damn good dissertation. So says me, the I AM. (Or the I'M because I'm lazy and I contract.)

Now all I need to do is convince my stake-holders that this glory and wonderment shall come to fruition, and I'll be golden. Other than the making it come to fruition part...which will require convincing them that it did and that it was twice as good as they expected it to be. Its redemptive blood shall heal all sinners.

Sorry. I'm on kind of a pre-Easter Lent kick. Does it show?

1:23 p.m. - 2009-04-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

polarity
annanotbob2
atwowaydream
gomeny
planetpink
fa11
astralounge
shot-of-tea
banana3159
o-twinkle-o
sparkspark
evilyoyo
marn
teenmommie
graagh
shevdevil
nessa24601
idiot-milk
onepinksock
moonshine76
linguafranca
giallothang
friskyseal
annanotbob
leotard
trapeze-act
killsbury
plastroncafe
jwinokur
Andrew
seattle-rain
boombasticat
do-dolen