outer-jessie's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

house arrest

I am much better, thank you.

I vegetabulated yesterday, and it was the greatest thing ever. No work, no Rob, nothing to do but sit and recover and laugh myself into coughing fits over the stupidly hilarious things that came to my head. The bird was being especially comical, in a slapstick kind of way, and it was cracking me up all the live long day. It and I sat around in our pajamas all day and ate lots of soup and tea and made construction paper snowflakes, after much experimentation with the forgotten (by me) art of construction paper snowflake...construction.

We ended up with one yellow snowflake, which was originally a demo but turned out being our first masterpiece, so we hung it even though it looks like it had an unfortunate encounter with a cross-legged dog during its freefall to earth.

Long sentence.

Anyway, I still sound kind of awful, cough-wise, but it really is better than it sounds. I am definitely on the mend and have even resumed singing in the shower.

Tonight, as part of Rob's birthday/Christmas package, we will be attending this game. I will be the girl exhibiting blind drunken loyalty to the home team and complete lack of understanding of the rules of play. We may be sporting signs reading "Couldn't Afford Patriots Tickets", but probably not. Watch, if you are so inclined, and try to pick us out. We'll be a girl asleep on the arm of a man who's quietly making calculations of the players' performance.

Tomorrow we're having a little get-together at Anna's, which is very exciting and I can't wait. I'm bringing cranberry bread since, as I explained to Anna, I will feel like the scummiest of scum if I show up empty-handed. She is being very kind by allowing me to participate. I have my neuroses, brought upon by the up-bringing in an old-fashioned Italian family.

Sunday my two remaining high school friends and I are celebrating the birthday of one of us. I must stop at Kay*Bee and pick her up an electronic pocket Yahtzee, so she can begin her own Nahtzee warfare training. She bought me one for Christmas, which will serve me very VERY well on that car ride to Tucson, and she's confessed an insatiable itch to play with it herself. I took this hint and I'm cashing it in at the toy store.

It's going to be a gorgeous weekend. I just hope I can keep the phlegm release to a minimum. I guess that means no Bailey's on the rocks. *sigh* But in the right company, I can order a fuzzy navel with no shame. Ah, friends who embrace your love affair with peach schnapz.

Don't they all deserve pocket Yahtzees of their very own?!

This is the project I will be working on for my assistantship in grad school. It looks very cool, and very daunting. Can't wait to get my hands dirty.

Ooh, did I mention I have been endowed with a car? Not under the best of circumstances -- my grandmother is taking my grandfather's car off the road and giving it to me. No transactions have taken place yet, which is kind of scary because I need time to get insurance and get the car packed and shipped and squared away, but it will come with time. It's great because a) it's my grandfather's car, so even though it's smoky I know he's taken good care of it, b) it'll save me a heaping lotload of money, c) we can fill it full of our stuff when we ship it, saving us on individual shipping costs, and d) because we can pack that car tightly, we'll have more room in Rob's car and can maybe bring the bird with us. Yay! I know the bird would suffer emotional trauma going back to its sad existence living alone and unloved in my old bedroom, and I would suffer emotional trauma giving it up to an unwholesome environment. I really hope it gets to come live in Arizona. If we can't fit it in the car, I'm shipping it.

Speaking of shipping things, and, indirectly, the places to which things are shipped, Rob and I were granted an apartment in the complex we had Do-approved. So I will shortly have an address, to which I can start having all my important mail sent. That's another thing I need to buckle down and get squared away, very soon. I can't believe I'll be moved out of this apartment, two weeks from day. At least I hope that'll be the case.

Ah yes, and the final anecdote of the day, speaking of leaving the apartment. The apartment has spoken out, made its opinions clear. It does not want me to leave. Today, it locked me and Rob inside and refused to let us out. I had to call my landlady to come free us, because the deadbolt on the door had completely jammed and could not be persuaded to release us. I can no longer lock this door at all, and it had to be held closed with a jumprope tied to another doorknob when we left today. Bad news for a girl who holds sacred the concept of security.

My landlady is a good person, but due to her performance with the not-extermination of the centipedes, the not-eradication of the mice, and the not-rewiredation of my bathroom light, I am not expecting a quick fix here. Ah well, time to hand the torch over to the next tenant.

Speaking of going to the bathroom, I have to do that now.

12:06 p.m. - 2002-12-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

polarity
annanotbob2
atwowaydream
gomeny
planetpink
fa11
astralounge
shot-of-tea
banana3159
o-twinkle-o
sparkspark
evilyoyo
marn
teenmommie
graagh
shevdevil
nessa24601
idiot-milk
onepinksock
moonshine76
linguafranca
giallothang
friskyseal
annanotbob
leotard
trapeze-act
killsbury
plastroncafe
jwinokur
Andrew
seattle-rain
boombasticat
do-dolen