outer-jessie's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the true meaning of dorkiness

Ahhh. Hello babies. I just thought I'd tell you that it's a beautiful day in the neighborhood, in the eye of this beholder. This morning as I was walking to work, the sky was a pale, pale, Easter-dress blue, with romantic clouds all over. Now it's a smooth, opaque, pearly blue. Because the snow melted away over night, I can imagine it's the dawning of April. Allow me to bask in this reverie for a moment, if you will.

And now another installment of my To Do list, for my own sake, which you need not read. Why do I do this? I remember things much better when I write them down, even if I never read what I write again. I could do this on paper, but if I did that, how would you know all the exciting things that are going on in my life?

* * *

At work, read that article that you've foolishly been putting off for three weeks now, and copy over files for your overdue research. Try out Adam's script, see if you know what you're doing. Ask Adam questions, if need be (not too many, because he's having a busy day). Prepare to work on research hardcore tomorrow, when the Deputy gets back.

Call up and cancel those trial membership thingies you signed up for for no good reason.

Email those people you've been blowing off for a few weeks now.

Print out TfA application.

Once home, get online and upgrade your internet service. Go to the Universal Studios website (not Netscape compatible) and see if you can buy a couple day passes. Write to Katy and ask for a recommendation.

Get offline. No more for you!

Do not turn on tv. Put on a CD and do some studying for your final. Jot down ideas for the application essays.

Pack for the weekend. Oh no! Who has your Old Navy returns?

File your nails. That tapping sound they make on the piano is hideous.

Make sure you have money for the train, and don't spend any of it.

Call your Yo and verify weekend's plans. Notify her and others of need to see movie elsewhere, and suggest ice skating instead.

Clean up apartment, leave it looking tidy for your return.

* * *

Oh god, I have to write this all down. There's no way I'll remember. (pause)

*scribble, scribble* Ok. While you waited, I accomplished the following: the printing, the calling, and the email to Katy. I'm in pretty good shape. There are some things I can't do till I get home, but I should do my best to minimize the number of things that have to wait till later. (*ting* gleam off teeth)

Oh for crying out loud. Fedex can't find my apartment and is lost and crying. Hang on yet again while I call them.

Stupid heads. (sigh)

In an attempt to lose weight for Valentine's Day and the trip to Florida I purchased yesterday (here's hoping Rob doesn't read this in the next two weeks...no worries, he won't), I have been bouncing nightly, as I've told you. It's an excellent motivator. YOU try watching YOUR shuddering, shimmying flab flailing about and see how much YOU feel like pigging out after that. Sadly, the vast majority of my swiny inclinations occur before the scheduled bouncing. I should rearrange that. Excellent idea, my friends; thanks.

Um. Did you know dork means penis? It's true, you can even see it at dictionary.com. More fascinating trivia I learned from my PreHistory of the Far Side. I am right now puzzling out the true meaning of "dorkiness."

10:11 a.m. - 2002-01-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

polarity
annanotbob2
atwowaydream
gomeny
planetpink
fa11
astralounge
shot-of-tea
banana3159
o-twinkle-o
sparkspark
evilyoyo
marn
teenmommie
graagh
shevdevil
nessa24601
idiot-milk
onepinksock
moonshine76
linguafranca
giallothang
friskyseal
annanotbob
leotard
trapeze-act
killsbury
plastroncafe
jwinokur
Andrew
seattle-rain
boombasticat
do-dolen