outer-jessie's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Student assistant bites the dust

I was going to say, "This has been a bad day," except that this has not really been a bad day. This has been a bad moment wrapped in an otherwise good day.

Whatsoever I may have already mentioned about my fellowship here, suffice it to say that it required me to work with a student, and I panicked about finding one, and then I found TWO, and I picked one who was really great, and the fellowship peeps set us up to travel to a research retreat with them this week, and then today this student bailed on me. I did something stupid, and she flipped out, and now that it's WAY TOO LATE to do so she has left me in a lurch. Or a ditch, or whatever it is people leave other people in when they were supposed to be helping them but end up pulling the rug out from under them instead.

I'm distraught about this, but at the same time thinking that it's going to be all right, and that I need to just float and let what's going to happen, happen. It's my fault, in a way, what happened, but it's also not. I think I took responsibility for that which was my fault, and corrected the situation to the best of my ability. Now I'm having to clean up what this student did, not just to me but to those who offered me the fellowship. I may lose the fellowship altogether now, and if so, so be it.

Meanwhile, in a bizarrely serendipitous twist of fate, another student contacted me out of the blue about the position. Strictly speaking, I stopped recruiting for the position on the day that I accepted the student who just dumped me, or rather the day that she applied. What are the chances that the same day I lose a student, a new student will pop up to take her place? Especially now, a month after I stopped taking applications? (So to speak; it's not like I had anyone banging my door down to get applications in.) I don't know what the chances are, but the probability is one because it already happened. I don't know if anything at all will come of it, but I did send this student a bunch of information, we will just see what comes of it.

I feel like a giant asshole for having to send regrets on behalf of my former student assistant, and I can't BELIEVE that she would back out on me now two days before the retreat. It sucks. Whatever else there is to it, it just sucks that she would do that. But oh well.

Not sure what's going to happen now. Just have to wait and see.

Oh and I did zero walking today. Boo.

6:45 p.m. - 2009-09-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

polarity
annanotbob2
atwowaydream
gomeny
planetpink
fa11
astralounge
shot-of-tea
banana3159
o-twinkle-o
sparkspark
evilyoyo
marn
teenmommie
graagh
shevdevil
nessa24601
idiot-milk
onepinksock
moonshine76
linguafranca
giallothang
friskyseal
annanotbob
leotard
trapeze-act
killsbury
plastroncafe
jwinokur
Andrew
seattle-rain
boombasticat
do-dolen