outer-jessie's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Boring recap entry + boring run talk

Maybe this was supposed to be the Weekend of Writing, but it hasn't exactly turned out that way. Yet. Today was the day of Make a List and Read One Article, then it was off to another Oktoberfest-in-September with friends, wherein G and I ate brats, roasted corn, potato salad, and pie. OH YUM! And then we all met up to watch Army of Darkness, which was wicked HA. All in all, a most satisfying evening, and a good way to reward ourselves for working out once again.

Working out is not really working out so well for me. This is the first time we've worked out since last weekend, which is not much of a roll if you ask me. But G got a clear bill of health when she went to the ear doctor the other day and is now fitness-approved, meaning we can do bouncy aroundy type things if we want to. She's still deaf in that ear, but presumably only because there is still a lot of post-operative foam in that ear that keeps her eardrum from moving much. When that goes away, hopefully her hearing will be back to normal.

Pretty exciting story, I know.

Anyway, back to working out. Basically, we've reached a point where we've realized we're not doing ourselves any favors by sitting around all the time. In fact, we're starting to cause ourselves problems, both digestinal and structural in nature. I'm more enormous than I've ever been, AGAIN. (Keep hitting new upper limits.) But if this is rock bottom we've hit, there's nowhere to go but up, yes?

Going along with the theme of running seeming to be the best way to lose weight, we've begun trying it out. (That is, when I can convince G that running around is a good idea.) Today we actually attempted some treadmill running. Treadmill because it's a-flippin'-nother hundred degrees around here, but eventually we'll move outside, like when it dips into the (gasp!) 70s in October (I hope). I think today I did about half running, half walking, in intervals, going from walking at 3 mph, to running at 4 mph, up to 5 mph, then squeaking out a teeny minute of 6, then back down progressively. And repeat.

Sadly, after half an hour of running, I only managed a paltry 2 miles. 2! That's only four miles per hour, when I'm at my best. 4! I am going to need to SERIOUSLY UP THE ANTE if I'll ever have a hope of finishing 26. At all, never mind within 8 hours. Oy. I've got to get up to at least, what, six if I'm ever going to complete the damn thing.

Not that I am worried, mind you. Sure I can do it. Just need to start running every day. Um. Every other day. Or so.

1:05 a.m. - 2009-09-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

polarity
annanotbob2
atwowaydream
gomeny
planetpink
fa11
astralounge
shot-of-tea
banana3159
o-twinkle-o
sparkspark
evilyoyo
marn
teenmommie
graagh
shevdevil
nessa24601
idiot-milk
onepinksock
moonshine76
linguafranca
giallothang
friskyseal
annanotbob
leotard
trapeze-act
killsbury
plastroncafe
jwinokur
Andrew
seattle-rain
boombasticat
do-dolen