outer-jessie's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

mint chocolate candy cane

The sky last night was such an intensely beautiful shade of blue. I'm writing that here in the hopes that I'll remember it.

Yeah baby, mint chocolate candy cane for dessert! I had to do something. It's Christmas Eve Eve, and I'm at work and there's a big ass load of presents at home waiting for me to open them. If I didn't have the candy cane to look forward to, I might do something drastic like unwrap all the packages of printer paper in the supply closet. Which just reminded me of how my brother and I used to find little presents under the bathroom sink when we were little, and unwrap them looking for the prize. Little did we know, they were tampons.

And how about that time in my impressionable youth when my parents woke us up and told us it was Easter? My brother and I, unconscious of the passage or non-passage of time, got all excited and went to find our Easter baskets and the hidden eggs. When our parents said April Fool's, we could not grasp this cruel reality, and the fact that Easter had been no more than two weeks ago, and continued to search out the goods. God our parents must have felt like criminals.

There are some things you shouldn't joke about with children. The possibility of gifts is one of them.

I tell you, I'm over the fact that there's no Santa now, although I admit I was a late-comer to the idea. I bet I was still a believer at ten. The reality of magic was so integral to my belief system, that I never felt the need to question it.

I'm almost over the fact that there's no Santa. I still might believe there is, a little bit.

I also might have leftover traces of the belief that I am special somehow, for some reason. That I was chosen, for something, by someone. I have nothing to support this belief, other than years of practice.

I am presently holding my cheek away from my face as I chew, to prevent my senseless choppers from mauling my sensitive flesh. I've chomped down on the inside of my cheek three times in the past five minutes. I sense danger for my tongue as well.

Not only did Rob and I buy eggnog yesterday, we also purchased a roll of cookies (yeah, the lazy chef's way to bake) and some International Coffee. I am so ready for a cozy afternoon tomorrow. Goddammit, Rob better have finished buying his presents this morning or suffer my wrath when he disturbs my cozy afternoon. I should call him and find out. Do hold, won't you?

All right, all's well, he finished his shopping, except for a Blockbuster card I can pick up on my way home. Wrath withheld, for the time being.

I've got myself effectively locked out of chat because the software I'm using here thoroughly incapacitated the chat software. So I'm signed on, but can't talk, and can't close any windows. I still have two hours of work to kill, and this is all bad.

Good thing I've got this candy cane to occupy me.

I realized this, and I resent it. The two male operators (operators being the group of workers to which I belong) did not give presents to the rest of us, even though we gave presents to them. True, we did not notify them of the date and time we would be doing this, but that's no excuse for not coming in sometime during the rest of the week and dishing out goodies.

Holy crap, this is the weirdest candy cane I've ever tasted. It has a hard chocolate center. I don't know if I can accept that.

Oh no! I'm becoming tired! I'll never make it through the next hour and thirty seven minutes if I'm sleepily counting down the minutes...right. I'm going to get up now. Bounce a little. Run around the halls. That is such a load of crap, Jessie. What you're actually going to do is stand up, walk down the hall to the third office from yours, and sit down in another chair. You're going to press a few buttons, then stand up and walk back to your own chair. Yeah well, it's a lot more exercise than I'm getting right now.

I may be back in an hour, but if I'm not, kiddies, merrily partake in your holidays and graciously expand your waistline. I'll be right behind you. (kiss, kiss, kiss)

3:12 p.m. - 2001-12-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

polarity
annanotbob2
atwowaydream
gomeny
planetpink
fa11
astralounge
shot-of-tea
banana3159
o-twinkle-o
sparkspark
evilyoyo
marn
teenmommie
graagh
shevdevil
nessa24601
idiot-milk
onepinksock
moonshine76
linguafranca
giallothang
friskyseal
annanotbob
leotard
trapeze-act
killsbury
plastroncafe
jwinokur
Andrew
seattle-rain
boombasticat
do-dolen