outer-jessie's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

sea monkeys from space

Ah, this is unusual. Stuck in my head at this moment is this little ditty, to the tune of Michael Row the Boat Ashore:

Don't be SUCH a nincompoop,

Alleluiah;

Don't be SUCH a nincompoop,

Alleluiah.

Capitalization to clarify where the stress should fall. I.e., sing "such" where "row" would be. Anyway. You've got it.

An unfortunate birthday conclusion: sea monkeys from space closely resemble millipedes, which closely resemble centipedes. Part of Rob's gift was the monkeys in a box, all of whose writing he read, but he failed to see the *picture* of the monkeys. I think somewhere in his heart of hearts, he expected them to look like tiny astronauts with tails, although he said he thought they'd look like sea horses. If forced to offer a guess with a gun to my head, like that would ever happen, I would probably have said something resembling tiny shrimp. But nothing like multi-legged bugs would have come to mind. However, I've always thought fish were cuter than bugs any day, and I can pretend that the sea monkeys are fish. Plus we can tout them as pets, and pets are lovable, unlike infestations. Just god forbid I should let the little guys leak out. I know they would morph into the legions of 'pedes lurking in the dark corners of my apartment.

I didn't say this out loud, but when I saw just the monkeys I was thinking, WHAT?!? I spent a good deal more than this on your birthday, my dear. But that's because I'm a selfish and partially blind nincompoop, and didn't notice that there was more to come. Now THIS is cool. Rob also got us a trip on a hot air balloon over Derry, New Hampshire (locale of IT and many other Stephen King stories *shudder*). According to coworker, this experience is not so much like flying -- it's in fact very still -- but I'm excited and grateful anyway. I love being way up high, and I know Rob doesn't like it all that much, so he's a wonderful and self-sacrificing dooby and I love my gift and my boy. Kind of makes my trip to Disneyworld cheapen in comparison, because he doesn't really like rides but I do. I'll never be as selfless as he is. I hope he at least enjoys the sun.

It better be sunny, by god!

You little sneak! Without notifying myself, I've been eating my banana bread before finishing my beans or starting on my apple sauce. That was my dessert! I can't believe I could be so underhanded.

It occurs to me that I should check my voicemail in my personal office, the one I don't work in. My friend told my brother she would call me here on my birthday, and she may have called me there instead. We're supposed to do something fun this weekend and I haven't heard from her. She may be waiting to hear from me. In which case...yeah, I should go find out.

My god, are you still here? I finished this entry about an hour ago. I think you should leave.

12:15 p.m. - 2002-01-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

polarity
annanotbob2
atwowaydream
gomeny
planetpink
fa11
astralounge
shot-of-tea
banana3159
o-twinkle-o
sparkspark
evilyoyo
marn
teenmommie
graagh
shevdevil
nessa24601
idiot-milk
onepinksock
moonshine76
linguafranca
giallothang
friskyseal
annanotbob
leotard
trapeze-act
killsbury
plastroncafe
jwinokur
Andrew
seattle-rain
boombasticat
do-dolen