outer-jessie's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

it's a girl

Ah, lovelies! Lovely, lovely lovelies. How's it going? Was a good weekend had by all? Mine was good. Yep. Took the train to Kingston on Friday afternoon, the coldest day of the year, where my friend Emily was five minutes late to pick me up. Luckily, I had faith in her arrival, so I wasn't wallowing in freezing self-pity. As I half expected, the blame was not hers. It belonged to my far-away friend, the one who called me up and asked if we could get together for her visit to the home planet. She was the reason I was going down, and yet she did not show up. She did not show up at Emily's house, to come pick me up at the train station, on the coldest day of the year. Emily waited in vain for her, and ended up doing 90 from the canal to save my frosty butt from a chilling demise. We bitched out far-away friend intermittently for the rest of the night, and rightly so. She never showed up, she never called; god knows what happened to her. Most likely, nothing. Just more bullshitting from my bullshitty friend.

Besides that fun, there was real fun. Emily and the baby and I played the night away, and in the morning we hopped to an Easter egg hunt at the mall. A scary, scary Easter bunny was in attendance. I was not the only one afraid, but I was the only one who was not reduced to tears about it. I've gained such emotional strength in my old age.

After that I went to the padres' house and woke up my brother, who's home for a brief time before heading off for France for the semester. My dog was excited to see me; is there anything more gratifying than that? I eventually cajoled my parents into showering and dressing, the lazy slobs (my father had been up till 5 am watching The Mexican. THE MEXICAN), and we got to the restaurant just as Rob and his yo were arriving. The parental meeting was nothing if not ridiculous. Good lord, the three of them talked as if talk was manna from god, manna that would spoil if left sitting for more than five minutes. I told Rob that our parents like each other more than he and I like each other ;)

Saturday afternoon Rob and I came back and had a stupid non-fight and I cried when he left. Then I was pissed at him until he finally deigned to screw me in the wee hours this morning. Holy shit. I would have been screaming and howling were it not for the respect I have for most normal people's bedtimes.

Thank heavens I have him tonight too. Where does this enormous horn factor originate?

But I think the unexpected best part of the weekend was the phone conversation I had with my Bio2 professor. I called her because of our original plan to talk about the TA job, before I decided I wouldn't apply. As ever, she put me back on track. She referred me to the Science Education program at the University of Arizona, which is a great school with an excellent astronomy program, which has recently gone in cahoots with the education program to yield this which interests me greatly. Screw Harvard, I can do this in Arizona! Ah, my life feels like mine again. She also gave me this ray of hope, that they may hire two TAs for next year because of the maternity leave of one of the professors. If that ends up being true, both I and one of my friends would have the chance of going. Do you know how much that would thrill me? Of course, it's no more likely than things ever were: Meredith would have to be accepted for the RA job, and they would have to be hiring for two TAs, and both I and my friend would have to be accepted for it all to work out. But it's worth thinking about, right?! Of course it is.

I feel so much better. The sex, the possibilities, the new hair conditioner...I feel like a million bucks. You know, in a good way.

10:51 a.m. - 2002-03-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

polarity
annanotbob2
atwowaydream
gomeny
planetpink
fa11
astralounge
shot-of-tea
banana3159
o-twinkle-o
sparkspark
evilyoyo
marn
teenmommie
graagh
shevdevil
nessa24601
idiot-milk
onepinksock
moonshine76
linguafranca
giallothang
friskyseal
annanotbob
leotard
trapeze-act
killsbury
plastroncafe
jwinokur
Andrew
seattle-rain
boombasticat
do-dolen