outer-jessie's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Androgynous baby

The kitten is not a girl kitten.

I KNEW IT! I knew there was something suspicious about her, about...that. But I opted to keep believing it MIGHT still be a girl, and maybe those tiny balls will fall off or something.

But nope. My hopes were dashed when my girl picked up the kitten and declared, "She's a BOY!" And dashed further when the vet assistant confirmed that the kitten was "a little man." Ok, that's just funny, a kitten being a little man! But I digress.

It shouldn't really bother me that much that the kitten is a boy kitty and not a girl kitty. He's still the same crazy and deviously adorable little kitten that she used to be. He still curls up on my neck and tries to suckle my earlobe like she always did. He's still scared of the breadmaker...ok, she didn't used to be afraid of the breadmaker but that's only because this is the first time I've ever used it. He's hiding under my desk. Who knew breadmakers were so scary?

The thing that bothers me about his being a boy and not a girl, is that it bothers me that he's a boy and not a girl. I wanted a girl kitty. I want only girl things, in totality. I don't know how to be with boy things! Am I a bad postmodernist? Shouldn't I be beyond the trappings of gender and the traditional roles to which each sex is assigned? And oughtn't I be most especially beyond such considerations with regard to baby cats?

Fortunately, it has not been too terribly hard to keep liking the kitten now that she's a boy. It's been a little awkward kissing it on the head and snuggling with it now that I know it's a "little man," but I expect these things will pass with time. I must be strong. This is the modern world, and I can't be walking around with prejudiced views about kittens-who-used-to-be-girls-but-aren't-now.

5:11 p.m. - 2008-06-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

polarity
annanotbob2
atwowaydream
gomeny
planetpink
fa11
astralounge
shot-of-tea
banana3159
o-twinkle-o
sparkspark
evilyoyo
marn
teenmommie
graagh
shevdevil
nessa24601
idiot-milk
onepinksock
moonshine76
linguafranca
giallothang
friskyseal
annanotbob
leotard
trapeze-act
killsbury
plastroncafe
jwinokur
Andrew
seattle-rain
boombasticat
do-dolen