outer-jessie's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

sussafrussenfass?

This day has been supremely satisfying, and given me many moments of unfettered happiness. But it must be hormones, because absolutely nothing of interest has happened today.

My bird is an optiphiliac. Specifically, a right optiphiliac. It likes to sit on top of my head, lean over, and poke me in the right eye. It gets really pissed when I won't let it do this. It has this little heart-breakingly adorable noise it makes when it's pissed, that my brother dubbed its own personal "hiya!". It does it when you try to touch it, when you go to grab it, and when you swat it away from pecking your eye out.

The bird is no end of amusement for me, even if I'm still several miles away from unabashedly loving it. Because it's such a brat. It stands about three inches high, but it has the attitude of a much taller and bigger-brain-having animal. Did I tell you about the time, after recently moving it to my apartment, when it flew around the room, smacked into the mirror, bounced over to the other wall, and slid down it to behind my computer? Then from behind my laptop screen, started tweeting like kinda-sorta nothing had happened? How about how it very much would like to sit on Rob's chest and peck at his necklace, but the chest hair tickles its feet? This is also why it prefers my head to Rob's: my hair goes straight down instead of sticking up and being a tickly forest. Also, my head is closer to the ground, which is also favorable. We're giants to a bird that's three inches tall.

I'm sure I have many fantastic things to tell you that don't have to do with parakeets...oh wait...no. In the past couple of days since I've updated, I went shopping, went shopping again, and joined a gym. I've also had a nightmare about this trip, involving missing the first appointment and leaving all my papers and luggage at home. I'm sure I'd be more calm and collected if I could just find a freaking shirt to wear for my interviews in Arizona. Why did I wait until fall to buy a shirt for something which requires summer apparel? And what makes me think I'll be able to track down a button-down, short-sleeved, cranberry-colored shirt in size large by next Wednesday? *details added to make everyone go check their closets*

And then there's that whole "I'm about to go on four flights spanning the entire country twice in one weekend" thing. And it sure is the best time to fly! Besides which, I haven't factored jet lag into my plans. I'm going to be a friggin wreck by the time I make it to California. Ash and Greg may want to rethink the visit in the Phoenix airport. And speaking of which, what kind of visiting will we get to do when you can't even get to the terminals without a ticket? And I can't leave because then I'll have to get checked back in, and there won't be time. I don't know if this is going to work.

Oh, but the good news is that my fears about the cabbie were, as luck would have it, completely unfounded. I talked to him the other day, whatever day it was, and although he did sound disorganized, he also sounded like he would make every effort to be there when I need him to be. That's a major load off my mind. Especially as the night I arrive will be the only one which will involve a good night's sleep, and I'd like to have at it as soon as I can.

This fall is going to go by so fast, with all the activities I've packed into it. Have I mentioned I've not picked up a physics book in months?

Surely have more interesting things than this to say. Oh yes. The cashier at Filene's who scanned my stuff was insane. Very sweet, and well-intentioned, but not with all hands on deck, if you catch my drift.

I'm not stupid or anything, but...why did I leave my water bottle on that guy's desk?

I'm sleepy. I'm supposed to be going to the gym today. Two desires; but one destiny. I think I'll let them duke it out. In bed.

Tootsie rolls. Yesterday, I bought Tootsie rolls. A whole assorted fun pack of Tootsies in various Tootsie incarnations. I was supposed to be buying sunglasses. The sunglasses I bought cost 13 dollars and I tried them on today. They suck ass. Why do I even bother buying sunglasses, they either suck (most of them) or get lost (the ones I like). Annaliese's sunglasses were left in my brother's car, never to be seen again. Dammit, I liked those glasses.

This entry is succumbing to decomposition right before my very eyes. Let me try something new, then. Um...have you ever noticed, how, the...how people think that the moon isn't out during the day? Yeah, there we go, there's something. And when they make cartoons where the sun goes down and then the moon pops up, the moon is always crescent...but the moon would be full if it was coming up when the sun was going down...oh never mind. But seriously, people really are stupid and need to go on mental fasts so the mental toxins can go down the mental drain. I mean...what?

Wow, that totally backfired.

2:00 p.m. - 2002-09-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

polarity
annanotbob2
atwowaydream
gomeny
planetpink
fa11
astralounge
shot-of-tea
banana3159
o-twinkle-o
sparkspark
evilyoyo
marn
teenmommie
graagh
shevdevil
nessa24601
idiot-milk
onepinksock
moonshine76
linguafranca
giallothang
friskyseal
annanotbob
leotard
trapeze-act
killsbury
plastroncafe
jwinokur
Andrew
seattle-rain
boombasticat
do-dolen