outer-jessie's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

caffeine aggression

Oohhhhh...

I haven't had coffee in a long time, and it's always a trip when I do. The software guys are upgrading right now, so all our processing has come to a halt and we in operations have not a drop of a thing to do. All there is for the next two or three hours is the possibility of a caffeine high followed by a caffeine crash. A caffeine high for me consists of jitters and goofiness and laughter. The crash is an urgent need for a toilet.

Ding dong, no Friends until the Olympics are over. Do you know how liberating that will be for me? No more leaving work twenty minutes early on Thursday nights so I don't miss the show, like I did last night. What, do you think I would do that for the Olympics? No, only for that show that I detest more with each passing season, and cannot miss by penalty of a gnawing feeling that the world is turning without me.

Uh oh, the caffeine crash is taking affect. Be still, my rumbly stomach.

I have a dark confession to make. I, Jessie, supporter of literature, zealous infatuatee of books and stories and creative movies and plays and shows and dances and art...hate poetry. I do not like poetry. I can't write it, I don't enjoy other people's attempts, and it is only the rare master who can touch me with a verse or couplet. The very, VERY rare master. To be blunt, if you are not a scholar of metaphysics, do not taunt me, minion. Poetry is a very hard thing to teach, and a very hard thing to learn and understand, which is probably the reason why everyone comes out of high school sucking at it.

Ok, having said this, I will say that there actually is a lot of excellent poetry out there, but there's bound to be. We've been working on it for thousands of years. But that doesn't mean that every one of you who has their hand at it is any good. QUITE the contrary. This diatribe is pointless, so let's move on to another.

"United We Stand." Why doesn't anyone but me care that this doesn't mean what it's supposed to? "United we stand" is only half the sentence; it's "united we stand, divided we fall." Because of the phrasing of the sentence, it does not equal "We stand united." Really, it means, "when we are united, we are able to stand." If anything, it should be "United we stand," comma at the end, with the understanding that divided, we fall. But then we have a motto with a comma at the end, because it's only one clause out of two, so they should just change it to "We Stand United" and be done with it.

Calm down, babies. This is a far less political and controversial complaint than any I've had so far, so you have to let me have it.

Finally, a concern. Concern for all of you, and your knowledge of the world. You see, I'm a little shy about this, because I don't want to insult your intelligence...but I have to be sure. You all DO know that being cold and/or wet won't give you a cold, right? And that cold is actually bad for germs? And that you can't catch a cold from wind? Unless of course the wind we're talking about is the sneeze from an infected person, aimed in your direction. Good. Phew. I'm glad, you guys. Sometimes, I worry.

And speaking of, that cold I was supressing during my vacation, which I thought I had conquered, is attempting to make a resurgence. But it's not slowing me down; oh, no. This upgrade is though.

Hm, I wonder. I've only ever punched arms. That is, I've never punched anyone in the face, or the stomach, or anywhere it might actually cause damage. At least, not out of anger or with any intention to hurt. Should I rectify that? Should I expand my punch dominion into other regions of the body? Or should I just continue with my pacifism and hope no one tries to hurt or overpower me in the next sixty years. If they try to hurt or overpower me when I'm 82, fuck them, let them have it on their conscience.

This is all dietcokegirl's fault. Her claims to the ability to kick my ass got me all defensive.

I'm going to go call Rob and tell him bottled water isn't safer than tap water. Toodle-oo. (smooch)

9:51 a.m. - 2002-02-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

polarity
annanotbob2
atwowaydream
gomeny
planetpink
fa11
astralounge
shot-of-tea
banana3159
o-twinkle-o
sparkspark
evilyoyo
marn
teenmommie
graagh
shevdevil
nessa24601
idiot-milk
onepinksock
moonshine76
linguafranca
giallothang
friskyseal
annanotbob
leotard
trapeze-act
killsbury
plastroncafe
jwinokur
Andrew
seattle-rain
boombasticat
do-dolen