outer-jessie's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

my good deed of the century

I did a good deed yesterday. Being so blessed as I am, I decided to share my wealth and sense of self with others. "Here, others!" said I. "I want to give you what I have, and what I am. Take it freely, as it is being given. For it is nothing to me, if it is not something to you."

That's all a lie. All I did was lose my wallet at the mall.

It is not good to lose your wallet at the mall. Take it from me, friends. It may look like a small square of leather chock full of laminated cards, but when it's gone, you'll miss it. Trust me. You'll miss your license when you want to buy beer. You'll miss your credit cards when you want to buy beer. You'll miss your T pass when you want to go out and buy beer. And it's not just the beer you'll miss. You'll also reminisce about the times when you could go to the store with just a card and pick up a gallon of milk; the times when you could flash your ID at any curious passer-by. You'll miss going anywhere in Boston that you damn well please, without having to fork over a buck. In short, you'll miss not needing any cash to do what you want to do. And of course you'll be pissed, because you lost your wallet at the mall.

You know the little inspirational commercials they've been showing on Disney, about how nice and unified the country is since the hijackings? Don't be ashamed if you do. I would like to go on record as saying that those little commercials are bullshit. Someone has my wallet, and it's not me. If that's nice, someone show me hell.

Annnnnnyway...

Last night I had a mathmare. Can you imagine? I woke up from a horrifying dream about doing a math problem, and couldn't move my body. You know when you wake up from a dream in which your body was completely tensed, and it feels like you've been trying to elude velociraptors by staying completely still for hours at a time? Yeah. That's what I felt like. Why did this math problem induce such a response? I don't know. I can't remember. This is because I decided to remember that I had had what I dubbed a "mathmare", and nothing more. Can't be bothered with the details.

I'm so honored to have been mentioned in the diary sites of others. If I knew how to link to them, I would. Many thanks to astralfrog and taxidriver for their kind words. Hey cabbie: yes I did know about our being made of star shite. In fact, it's a very famous Carl Sagan quote, which I will paraphrase (because I don't remember it word for word): we are all made of stardust. Very poetic, no? It's a nice thought. And I would love to talk about stars with you, even if you are in a funk. I told my Biosphere professors that I'm working on getting you to apply :) You're basically guaranteed a spot, and no thanks to me.

10:50 a.m. - 2001-11-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

polarity
annanotbob2
atwowaydream
gomeny
planetpink
fa11
astralounge
shot-of-tea
banana3159
o-twinkle-o
sparkspark
evilyoyo
marn
teenmommie
graagh
shevdevil
nessa24601
idiot-milk
onepinksock
moonshine76
linguafranca
giallothang
friskyseal
annanotbob
leotard
trapeze-act
killsbury
plastroncafe
jwinokur
Andrew
seattle-rain
boombasticat
do-dolen