outer-jessie's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

E-Day

I woke up this morning at 7, opened my eyes in anticipation, and thought "ooh! it's Election Day!" and got all excited, as if it were Christmas or something. Except I then rolled over and went back to sleep until 10. So it was exactly like Christmas.

After watching Charlie and Lola and yelling at my girlfriend for ruining yet another day for me (adding Election Day to the list that includes Valentine's Day, Christmas, and the day the night-blooming cereus bloomed), I wandered over to the polling station and made my puny mark on the universe. Now it's a waiting game. Luckily I am free to wait in the comfort of my spectacular bed with my kitty, my laptop and a glass of water. (Hoping the kitty doesn't knock over the water and ruin my laptop and bed.)

In other kitty news, some forlorn meowing from under my window last night coaxed me out of my pre-slumber puzzle-book time to bring a fromage container full of cat food out to a pathetic and lost wayward visitor. He looked an awful lot like my cat, only a month or so younger, and darker and dirtier. He didn't want the food, but he did put his whole head on my foot, eliciting an involuntary "awwww" from me. He followed me up to my apartment, whereupon he followed me straight in and into my cat's territory. My cat, who as you know plays it real tough with his two moms, with our scars and scabs to prove it, went all wide-eyed bushy-tailed and scared of this little impudent stranger. They hissed at each other mildly but otherwise just walked around each other, which was not a very awe-inspiring display of fortitude for a mother to behold in her feline. Oh well, so much for fooling ourselves that we have the cat around for protection. We're obviously just keeping him because he's occasionally cute.

Long story short on the cat business, I had gotten myself all used to the idea of keeping an outdoor cat and had named him Sweeps (because he looked like he'd spent some time up a chimney), but when I went out this morning (*cough* noonish *cough*) he was gone, AND I saw him being shooed into an apartment not far from ours. I had half a mind to go yell at the apartment's inhabitants for kicking him out at midnight to meow forlornly around the premises, but my other half a mind was consumed with voting and being mad at my girlfriend, so I didn't.

That is that.

I'm off now ("off" in the loosest sense of the word, as I will not be getting "off" my bed) to watch some CNN and finish up my latest attempt at landing a fellowship. Then onward (in time, not place) to infinite data coding on behalf of my paying job. Toodles, and best of luck for whoever it is you voted for (unless it's not the guy I voted for, in which case, worst of luck).

12:19 p.m. - 2008-11-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

polarity
annanotbob2
atwowaydream
gomeny
planetpink
fa11
astralounge
shot-of-tea
banana3159
o-twinkle-o
sparkspark
evilyoyo
marn
teenmommie
graagh
shevdevil
nessa24601
idiot-milk
onepinksock
moonshine76
linguafranca
giallothang
friskyseal
annanotbob
leotard
trapeze-act
killsbury
plastroncafe
jwinokur
Andrew
seattle-rain
boombasticat
do-dolen