outer-jessie's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sweat and sunset

Being the lazy type, I woke up at 11 today, a work day, and then did no work. I thought instead I'd go work out, since it would be super swell to be much, much less enormous by the time I show up in person at the new job.

Being not only lazy but also a procrastinator, I'd put off until now to use two different exercise-related gift certificates, both of which necessitate about a month to use properly. And I have about a month left in town, so there you go. One of them is a month's pass to a bootcamp-style place where you work out in the great and very hot outdoors. I've gone twice so far, and I've replicated the workout at home twice. It is ROUGH, and it's exactly the kind of thing I need.

The other of them is a ten-class pass at a dance fitness place that specializes in things like Rumba. My sister the dancer gave this to me (six months ago). It's probably meant to be used over the course of ten weeks, but because I'm an idiot I have to do all ten classes before mid-July. Maybe I'll save one for the times I'm back in town over the next semester, but that is stupid so hopefully it won't come to that.

Anywhat, I attempted to go to my first dance class today, a nice fun Rumba class. I meant to leave in plenty of time, but I didn't, so of course I didn't make it to Rumba. Luckily, it's in the same part of town as the other place, and I still had fifteen minutes to make the next class there, so I went to that place instead. As I mentioned, it's held outside, in a park, so I could tell right away when I got there that there was exactly nobody else there. I waited in case I was just the first, but apparently that kind of thing is frowned upon in parks because a cop car came and parked next to me for no less than ten minutes. When it became obvious that there would be no class, I tried to drive away very nonchalantly so that no one would think I was just there to pick up 8-year-old boys or something.

Being as I was a good half hour from home, I was not about to leave without getting SOME kind of workout again. It was late enough now that surely there'd be another dance class starting, so I turned around and went back over to where I *thought* the dance place was, but of course it wasn't, so I got lost, but knowing that most of my spatial intuition is wrong, I made a 180 and found it in the other direction. I ended up being half an hour early for something called "Power and Jam Bootcamp" (apparently, I am destined for bootcamping). Which, as it turns out, is actually a hell of a lot tougher than the OTHER bootcamp. And you have to do it in front of mirrors; the only way to avoid seeing your flubs galumping around the room is to close your eyes, and this is frowned upon. It was fun though, despite the fact that my face turned baboon butt-red from the exertion. I'm sure it does this at the other place too, but I don't have to see it.

Of course since I was on the opposite side of town I didn't quite know how to get back, so I took some wrong turns heading home. I was on some roads that I've never even heard of before, never mind having been there, and this is after nearly 9 years of living in this place. At one point, I noticed a huge flock of small birds rising into the sunset sky. A real lot of birds. What made them all fly up all of a sudden? As I got closer, I realized that they weren't birds, they were bats, coming out of an overpass across the river. Wow! I'd heard of this before, a place where you could stand on a bridge at sunset and watch the bats come out, but I'd long since forgotten where or even anything about it. I was just in the right place at the right time, quite by accident, which certainly put all my previous mistakes and wrong turns into perspective.

8:25 p.m. - 2011-06-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

polarity
annanotbob2
atwowaydream
gomeny
planetpink
fa11
astralounge
shot-of-tea
banana3159
o-twinkle-o
sparkspark
evilyoyo
marn
teenmommie
graagh
shevdevil
nessa24601
idiot-milk
onepinksock
moonshine76
linguafranca
giallothang
friskyseal
annanotbob
leotard
trapeze-act
killsbury
plastroncafe
jwinokur
Andrew
seattle-rain
boombasticat
do-dolen