outer-jessie's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

You're a loser, baby.

Every once in a while, all hell breaks loose. This is one of those times.

I have been killing myself to get ready for my defense later this month, but after receiving a draft of some of my analysis, my co-chairs went "hmmmm....NOPE." You have got to be kidding me. I've been working on this for ten years. TEN YEARS. Are you really going to block me in the last possible semester that I have?

Yes. They really are.

I don't have the strength to get into all the ways this is a fucking outrage. Suffice it to say that all my peeps in the academic world who have heard about this have been up in arms about it, but there is just nothing to be done about it. What pisses me off the most, petty though it may be, is that I had already bought airfare to Arizona, and there's no way out of it. So I have to take time off work, pay probably about a grand once all is said and done, just for the privilege of NOT fucking defending. But hey! Consolation prize! I get to meet with the two assholes who pulled this on me, for the second time in a row, at the time and place that WOULD have been my defense! Yippee!

I don't think I even bothered to write about it when this happened last time, in winter of 2010; I think I just stopped writing for a long time. Same as now, I was all set to defend, and two weeks beforehand they looked at what I had done, WHICH THEY HAD SUPERVISED, and decided I wasn't ready. Notice that that was over two years ago, and I was in the same city as them at the time. This time, they didn't even bother to supervise. People in Nebraska can go fuck themselves. Oh, and don't forget, pay close to a grand for the privilege.

I have worked my ass off to get to this point. With some guidance and support, I would have pure dissertation gold in my hands by now. Instead, I have pure dissertation dust. I found out about this right in the middle of our Vegas trip, which made for a fun family vacation. Already on edge from being in close proximity to your ADHD family? Can I interest you in a dose of personal failure to sweeten the deal?

Had to do the walk of shame across Facebook today, super fun. I'll have to sign the saddest petition to get an extension on my already ridiculously long graduate career, so I can defend sometime this summer (which is, naturally, the worst possible time to be in Tucson, and the worst possible time to be dressed in a nerdy pantsuit).

Super bummed.

7:34 p.m. - 2013-04-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Andrew
annanotbob2
linguafranca
friskyseal
fa11
atwowaydream
shot-of-tea
astralounge
jwinokur
graagh
marn
boombasticat
evilyoyo