outer-jessie's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

dream-like state

We are moving! Again!

And that is good because?

Because we're finally moving to Oregon, baby! Oh yeah!

(Is it weird that I heard myself type that in the Koolaid Man's voice? (is that really his name? Koolaid Man?))

Anyway. Oregon!

Not Portland like we've been scheming about for the past four years, but a spot on the coast that is very lovely and possibly better. In some ways, at least. It's not the city, and that is swell. It's not near a Trader Joe's, and that is less swell. But we'll make it through somehow. I may have to stock up on TJ's boxed mac and cheese. Oh yes I may.

G got a new job, and is the reason we are moving to this new spot. (heh heh...G blah blah spot) It's a great job for her, in her field, working with a tribe. Perfect. She's nervous because it's more responsibility than she's had before, but I think she's ready for it. I understand being nervous, but I'm sure she'll rise to the occasion and that they'll love her. I've never seen her fall short on any responsibilities and I don't expect to now.

I myself don't have a job there yet per se...in fact I have no job and no prospects. I've put in a slew of applications for weird things that aren't really in my field; dental office, park ranger, GED instructor. I'm looking at freelance writing jobs and online teaching. I'll do freelance whatever if it lets me live in Oregon.

I was kind of hoping I wouldn't have to find a job and could instead work on my writing, but then I looked at our finances. Whoa nelly, we are in deep. Our house in Nebraska refuses to get bought, and our student loan payments eat up close to a third of our current income, which is a lot closer to a half of our projected Oregonian income. Not awesome! So I am looking for something. Either something in my field that I can do locally or remotely, or something not in my field that won't require a lot of brainspace. I am hording that brainspace for my characters, who are itching to have experiences of their own.

Meanwhile, we've given notice at our current apartment, two months ahead of schedule, and I've given notice at my too-cool-for-me Berkeley job, six months ahead of schedule. We're planning a trip up the coast next weekend (again) to look for a place to live. On our first anniversary! Hey-o! One year in and still no wedding; what kind of sham marriage is this anyway?

(I was saving that line to use on my fbook page and now I've gone and used it already. Expect to see it again in a couple weeks, fbook crossover friends!)

G was looking at centerpiece ideas on P'trest the other day, which oh-so-slightly suggests that she might have gotten interested in wedding planning again. I would LOVE to plan our wedding on the Oregon coast, although it's a little late to plan it for this Christmas. Or is it...

But then again, we have no money. At ALL. We have descended even further into debt by living in California, a fact I've surely mentioned before, but damn is it upsetting! I'm making more than I've ever made before, close to 50% more, but I'm more in the hole than ever before (heh heh...in the hole). We're doing the best we can, but not well enough.

Sell, Nebraska house! Sell!

12:14 a.m. - 2015-06-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

fa11
shot-of-tea
alethia
atwowaydream
Andrew
linguafranca
astralounge
annanotbob2
friskyseal
jwinokur
graagh
marn
boombasticat
evilyoyo