outer-jessie's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

it's not like I plan these entries

That little guy with the sign was annoying wasn't he? I thought he was going to say something new and amusing every day, but he failed both of those requirements. To those who know not of what I speak, I'm saying I just took a feature off my page, because it didn't live up to your expectations.

Do you ever watch All in the Family? I realize that is the kind of show that many people purposely avoid; maybe it's something about the color scheme. But it is a great show. Six degrees of separation between All in the Family to Joe Vs. the Volcano: 1) Jean Stapleton, who plays Edith in the show, was the old woman Michael lived with in the movie Michael 2) John Travolta, who played Michael, was in Battlefield Earth 3) the hero from Battlefield Earth, name of I know not, was one of the main characters in Saving Private Ryan, which I didn't see but it's still true 4) Tom Hanks, hero of Saving Private Ryan, was Joe of Joe Vs. the Volcano fame. Hm, is that only four degrees of separation? I was never clear on the boundaries of the degrees.

Anyway, what the hell? What a massive sidetrack. I was going to tell you something fabulous that Edith said on the show last night. "Yesterday I reached for the liquid hair net and sprayed my head with room deodorizer. [looks into the distance] All day long I reminded myself of the great outdoors." Ha! I laughed and laughed, then repeated it a couple times to myself, so I'd remember it for you guys.

Speaking of you guys, thanks so much for all the recent entries in my guestbook. I'm glad you seem to like Cheesejoe, although I can't figure out why exactly. A friend is mulling over some sketches of the characters, so maybe they'll show up here someday. She said her physics notebook is full of butts :)

Listen: if ever you're walking along, and you overhear a little kid saying, "and now, my impression of a camel...", you will know right then and there what kind of life yours will be. It's all about your reaction. My conclusion: my life is going to be great! It already is. Try it yourself. Determine what your life is going to be, based on your reaction to something like that. If your brain throbs and you mutter to yourself that children should be seen and not heard, consider wacking yourself over the head to a) put yourself out of your misery b) make the children laugh and hope that their laughter redeems you somehow or c) knock that chunk of bitter away from your happiness receptor. If, on the other hand, you feel a tingle of joy that you were privy to this precious moment of pure silly, give yourself a hearty handshake and tell a stranger you like their shoes.

Isn't it ridiculous that I live a five minute walk from a sparkling river and I never go? It's especially ridiculous that I was just saying to myself, "I wish I lived near a river." I do! I should go! You have to realize, if life is, as we suspect, entirely dependent on the presense of liquid water, how lucky we are to live on a planet where water falls from the sky and runs all over the land. Earth is the best planet ever. (Jessie tries to hug the earth, realizes she's seven feet off the ground, and blows it kisses instead.)

3:37 p.m. - 2001-10-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

polarity
annanotbob2
atwowaydream
gomeny
planetpink
fa11
astralounge
shot-of-tea
banana3159
o-twinkle-o
sparkspark
evilyoyo
marn
teenmommie
graagh
shevdevil
nessa24601
idiot-milk
onepinksock
moonshine76
linguafranca
giallothang
friskyseal
annanotbob
leotard
trapeze-act
killsbury
plastroncafe
jwinokur
Andrew
seattle-rain
boombasticat
do-dolen