outer-jessie's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

There it goes...there goes another one...there goes aNOTHer one...and there goes a little one.

Yesterday I missed three buses in a row. One, after another, after another. (That's in reverse chronological order.) It was 7:30 in the morning and already well above 80 degrees, I was on four hours of sleep, and I was power-walking like a mofo.

I must have lingered too long over kissing my girlfriend goodbye while she slept, or perhaps I lingered too long over putting on eyeshadow, which would all come off twenty minutes later when the sweat from my forehead would be running over my eyelids. Whatever the reason, I was duly one minute late for the bus, which drove by me as I watched from about 30 meters away.

Luckily, there is another bus that goes in another direction about four minutes later, which gets me to a more central location where I can take another bus that brings me straight to campus. So I swung around and headed for that bus stop, and was at the intersection in time to watch that bus come around the corner and leave without me. FRICK.

Now at this point I should have admitted defeat, turned around and fetched my car, but did I do this? Obviously not, because I still had one more bus to miss. This stop I had to get to, the one in the more central location where the next bus comes round to, was about half a mile away, and I had six minutes to get there. On four hours of sleep. In over 80 degree weather. And now, pissed, desperate, and sweaty.

But I soldiered on, I power-walked that half mile or so, I radiated a vast amount of excess heat from my facial region, sweating off the aforementioned eyeshadow and every other kind of shadow. And what reward do I get? Well you already know because I already told you. Yes, I did get to watch, from yet another intersection, as yet another bus left me in the dust from mere meters away.

You will probably point out that, mere meters from all three of these buses, I could have made a run for any one of them. But I did not, because a) it was too hot and my backpack too heavy to be running anywhere; b) I was on four hours sleep, remember? and c) running for a bus is embarrassing, especially if you are portly and all your flesh bounces when you go quickly, and most especially if the bus takes off without you anyway. So no THANK you.

I had a good half-hour wait once I was at the bus stop before the next bus would come. I had to call my friends, to whom I was the one who proposed the 8 o'clock meeting, and tell them I wouldn't be there until 8:30, and then my phone died. So I took the opportunity of stolen time to eat my breakfast of bagel and radiate my campfire's worth of superfluous heat energy. Out my forehead. SEXY.

But wait! Twenty minutes later, what arrives but a bonus bus, an extra bus that no one expected! Well maybe if you are in the habit of reading morning bus schedules you would have expected it, but for me, surprise! It was still pretty early, and I would now be able to make it to campus by 8 and only be a little bit late for my meeting. Woot! But then when I got to campus at 8:02, I watched the shuttle drive past me, and had to walk all the way across campus to arrive at 8:20. Boooooooo.

But I managed to get the day's daily allotment of exercise done before I'd even digested my breakfast. Back to woot!

Ha ha, you're so funny, I don't have a daily allotment of exercise.

* * * * *

You may remember that I was fixing to have a super exciting uterine suction experience and are probably on pins and needles just WAITING to hear all about it, but it got rescheduled to this morning which is why you've not yet heard the details. It ended about two hours ago and was the devil incarnate as a poking device, but will probably be funnier after I have a bit more emotional distance from it.

Until then!

11:22 a.m. - 2009-07-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

polarity
annanotbob2
atwowaydream
gomeny
planetpink
fa11
astralounge
shot-of-tea
banana3159
o-twinkle-o
sparkspark
evilyoyo
marn
teenmommie
graagh
shevdevil
nessa24601
idiot-milk
onepinksock
moonshine76
linguafranca
giallothang
friskyseal
annanotbob
leotard
trapeze-act
killsbury
plastroncafe
jwinokur
Andrew
seattle-rain
boombasticat
do-dolen