outer-jessie's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

did you ever see a lassie go this way and that way

Hi.

Note for Notum: although I want to punch your lights out for that awful flashing piece of crap at the top of your page, I thank you for getting two Linkin Park songs stuck in my head. They replaced two Avril Lavigne songs that were stuck there before, which were making me want to punch my own lights out. Thank you.

I am back, for I have survived six flights and five interviews. There is much to say. But I can't say it right now, because I'm starving and need to go toast my bagel.

Please hold.

Ahhhh, there we go. Thank you for your fake patience.

So the trip. I left Thursday afternoon from work and arrived in Tucson eleven and a half hours later. So nervous that my stomach was revolted by everything I put in it (and rightly so, considering what I was putting in it). But when I came out of the terminal, there was Do, right there! Ah, it's nice to have friends in obscure places.

Do and I crashed at the hotel after I finished my stupid ironing, and we met up with Meredith the next morning. Do took off to find his missing paycheck, and Meredith and I took our lives and our resumes in our hands and headed off to the university. I would like to say that I wasn't really nervous until just before we stepped into the office that day, and then not again for the rest of the weekend.

Everyone we met was very personable and laid back. They loved us, what can I say. I'm not kidding. They wanted us to come the very next semester.

And they meant it.

The only problem with that is that I had wanted to go to Astrocamp the next semester. And I had yet to go there when they sprang this tasty offer upon me.

I fretted and frat. "Maybe I'll hate Astrocamp," I said to myself hopefully. "Maybe the people are all horrible and there's a profound feeling of malaise on campus. Maybe I'll leave there and never want to look back. That would eliminate the need to make a decision."

Unfortunately, I loved it.

Everybody was super cool, the director is awesome and very hot, the classroom setups and experiments for the kids are amazing and dammit I really want to go there and teach.

But I also want to start grad school early and take some classes before I start my research.

DAMMIT!

The worst part was, I had to know by yestserday. Which do you think I chose?

Not a rhetorical question, I'd really like to know.

It came down to what was easier for me and Rob. It was not easy for me to move to a small inaccessible mountain town to live and work and for Rob to try to find housing and work there too. It was easy for us both to live in Arizona right away and set up camp there for the long term while I'm in grad school. It would be easy to find cheap housing there and a job for Rob, and we have friends there, and we've lived there before and know what it's like.

So I had my application sent in yesterday, and I've been looking forward ever since. I'm sad to not be going to Astrocamp, but I do hope I'll get there eventually, somewhere along the way.

Right now, there is much to do. I have to round up the letters of recommendation I only just recently requested, thinking I had until June, and I have to write an essay (the standard "why do you want to come here" spiel). I still need to retake the physics GRE, and I need to get all the scores sent over. They do have my general GRE score, so that's good. But I still feel like something will be accidentally left behind. And the best part is, this was all due today. I don't know how much leeway they'll grant me to get everything in, but it will turn out much better if they give me till, say, the end of the month.

Unfortunately, they were hoping for the end of the week. Did I mention one of my references is in Germany right now?

Mlerg. I should just worry about this essay. Why do I want to go to the U of A?

Shit! I reread the beginning of this entry, and now I have Sk8erboy stuck back in my head. *punches own lights out*

8:18 a.m. - 2002-10-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

polarity
annanotbob2
atwowaydream
gomeny
planetpink
fa11
astralounge
shot-of-tea
banana3159
o-twinkle-o
sparkspark
evilyoyo
marn
teenmommie
graagh
shevdevil
nessa24601
idiot-milk
onepinksock
moonshine76
linguafranca
giallothang
friskyseal
annanotbob
leotard
trapeze-act
killsbury
plastroncafe
jwinokur
Andrew
seattle-rain
boombasticat
do-dolen