outer-jessie's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

mere ramblings about my likes. dislikes to come.

Screw work, today I'm reading a book. It's a very entertaining book, and I'm glad to have access to it, although I do realize how sorry a character I am to be so dependent on online books. Too bad. Imagine if I was just sitting here doing nothing, like I used to have to do back when I first started here? Yeah, it was a bad scene, thanks for sympathizing. I almost wrote sympathisizing. I'm such a geek.

Ha. One of the other kids who works here just walked into the office, said, "eh, what can you do" and left. No one but me seemed to realize how incredibly humorous that is. Oh man! It's hard to be around dorkuses all day long. I suffer, I really do. Luckily, my boss is fabulous. She's just telling us a story about teleconferences. She said, "sometimes you get on a telecon, and it takes you about fifteen minutes before you realize, this isn't even your organization". Ha ha! See, when the world speaks in techno-babble there's really no difference between the workings of a biochem company and the workings of a space craft.

Ignore what I said yesterday. It came out way hoitier and toitier than I intended. Usually the good thing about times like that is they're in my private diaries and no one will see them but me (and I get embarrassed anyway). But this of course is out in cyber space. Ah hell, it's still pretty impersonal out here. I know I could go back and edit what I said, but I really hate revising myself. I might as well stay true.

I am so Jonesin' after some cinnamon right now. No, I've never used the word Jonesin' before. I'll probably never use it again. Oh, ha! I just reminded myself of a Paula Poundstone narrative, where she was eating, hm, I think something with powdered sugar or cinnamon (or both, mmmmmmm) and she inhaled the powder and sneezed so hard she whacked her head on the table and fell to the ground. As she was lying there, she said she could just picture the eulogy: "she loved....spices". Oh, you have to hear it. Short story made needlessly longer, I want something with cinnamon in it and I think I'll be going to Dunkin Donuts to fetch me something that fits the bill.

If you don't want a list of comics and cartoons I like, then don't read this:

Bizarro, of course

Dilbert, of course

The Big Picture, I don't know why I'm addicted to this, it's not even that funny most of the time

Real Life Adventures is just hilarious

Calvin and Hobbes, of course. All time favorite, with good reason.

Red Meat, thanks to that kid I met on chat whose name so sadly escapes me. Why don't I have him on my buddy list?

Tom the Dancing Bug, ah, sarcasm in comic strip form

The Mostly Unfabulous Social Life of Ethan Greene, I love this guy's style, it cracks me up.

That about does it for comics, now on to cartoons:

King of the Hill, come on, that show is hilarious. I enjoy it more than the Simpsons a lot of the time (don't beat me)

Sponge Bob Square Pants, I was so delightfully confused when I first saw it and now I can't stop watching it, ever

Invader Zim, I know, I watch it almost entirely for Gr and for fear of the room with a moose

Space Ghost Coast to Coast, have you never seen this show?! Of course I love it!

Well, that about wraps up today's edition, take care and have a pleasant evening! (applause)

All right, if you're still here, I'll tell you something really great. I don't know what yet. Something really juicy and embarrassing about myself. I'm thinking, don't rush me. I haven't really embarrassed myself in such a long time (knocking furiously on wood). All right, this is just a wee tidbit that I'm sure caused me some slight localized embarrassment at the time but was thankfully smoothed over with a few hours of sleep. This report comes to you from the memory of my boy. It was the middle of the night, and Rob and I were asleep. He woke up momentarily and turned to me; I woke up and looked at him and said "I caught you". He said "what?" and I smiled and fell back to sleep. I'm guessing that I was telling him that I caught him staring at me, but upon finding out he wasn't I got sheepish and refused to tell him what I was talking about. But I don't know. After all, I was asleep. Oh yeah, the book I'm reading is A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur's Court. Join me. http://www.PageByPageBooks.com/Mark_Twain/A_Connecticut_Yankee_In_King_Arthurs_Court

1:52 p.m. - 2001-08-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

polarity
annanotbob2
atwowaydream
gomeny
planetpink
fa11
astralounge
shot-of-tea
banana3159
o-twinkle-o
sparkspark
evilyoyo
marn
teenmommie
graagh
shevdevil
nessa24601
idiot-milk
onepinksock
moonshine76
linguafranca
giallothang
friskyseal
annanotbob
leotard
trapeze-act
killsbury
plastroncafe
jwinokur
Andrew
seattle-rain
boombasticat
do-dolen