outer-jessie's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

bittersweet victory

Wow. I am struck dumb with patriotism. That has not happened in, I think, ever. I can breathe more easily for the next four (or eight!) years, I believe in my president, and I believe he'll take our country in a new and better direction. When he speaks, I feel the power of good. Instead of feeling like slapping somebody until they cry.

Plus a black family, with little kids, in the White House! That is so frickin cool.

What confuses me is that Obama, a really pretty liberal politician, managed to sweep the election, yet across the nation such completely illiberal ballot items passed. Three bans on gay marriage, and one ban on gay adoption. And while a ban on affirmative action was put in place in one state, it didn't pass in another, and attempts to limit the legality of abortion were struck down in several states. So it's not that people were uniformly voting conservatively on the measures, it's that they just don't like gay marriage.

I don't understand that.

9:32 a.m. - 2008-11-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

polarity
annanotbob2
atwowaydream
gomeny
planetpink
fa11
astralounge
shot-of-tea
banana3159
o-twinkle-o
sparkspark
evilyoyo
marn
teenmommie
graagh
shevdevil
nessa24601
idiot-milk
onepinksock
moonshine76
linguafranca
giallothang
friskyseal
annanotbob
leotard
trapeze-act
killsbury
plastroncafe
jwinokur
Andrew
seattle-rain
boombasticat
do-dolen