outer-jessie's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Jessie: A Grown-Up

Hello, this is Jessie, outer shell of such. Is anybody out there? I'm lonely...

I realized just now that it had been nearly a year since I'd written in here, and while I did write that little disclaimer stating it would be so, I never thought it would go this far. Ok, maybe I did. But I'm still amazed.

Let's see...my life is embarrassingly uncomplicated right now; I allay my guilt with long days spent in my jammies avoiding work. Take now, for instance. It is almost seven pm here in Tucson: I am sporting little more than a nightshirt with a picture of Sleepy on it. True, my bare feet have been cold all day, but that just wasn't enough of a force to overcome the sheer complacency of procrastination. If I had stooped to putting on socks or slippers, that would have been admitting that there were better things I could be doing. And I ask you, what is better than spending all day in one's jammies?

As for the uncomplicated life, it involves attending classes, doing slow and sporadic work on a project that actually means something to me, being the quiet but invested evaluator of yet another project which means less to me but which involves people who matter, creating culinary fireworks in my small but smartly equipped kitchenette, and being a happy member of the still young but up-and-coming enterprise of the Rob and Jessie endeavor, otherwise known as our marriage. Yes, I must admit, I am somebody's wife now. How it pains me to say it! Someone really must make over the notion of wifedom, so that those of us engaged in it, and taking great strides to make it work for us, needn't shudder to speak its name.

I suppose there's a lot to say about that, but none of it really strikes my fancy at this time. Perhaps if there's a public outcry, I'll tickle the electronic ivories once again, and regale all with tails of my exploits, my reveries, and my long bouts of inactivity... But then again, one needs a public in order for that to work. Where is my public these days? I can't blame them for straying, but still, one does favor the loyal -- ideally.

Have you ever noticed how much more satisfying it is being an adult and playing kid than it was being a kid and playing adult?

6:51 p.m. - 2004-02-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

polarity
annanotbob2
atwowaydream
gomeny
planetpink
fa11
astralounge
shot-of-tea
banana3159
o-twinkle-o
sparkspark
evilyoyo
marn
teenmommie
graagh
shevdevil
nessa24601
idiot-milk
onepinksock
moonshine76
linguafranca
giallothang
friskyseal
annanotbob
leotard
trapeze-act
killsbury
plastroncafe
jwinokur
Andrew
seattle-rain
boombasticat
do-dolen