outer-jessie's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Jessie's last day

It's December 19th! Can you believe it? Christmas is less than a week away, and I didn't even notice it sneaking up.

I'm wound up tight like a...yoyo...or a...gyroscope thingy, the things you wind up really really tight and then pull the string out really hard so it spins and spins...one-a those. It's my last day of work, as you well know by now, and I have presents for coworkers, a card and some candy for Joy, no more work ID card or pager-which-I-never-used. We're going out to lunch and I plan to eat clam chowder. The day is going to go whizzing by, and then my father will be here to pick me up and haul off the bulk of my belongings. Then all the crap I must do in readiness for this evening, and tomorrow.

Plus it's almost Christmas! I could be bouncing off the walls like so much Flubber right now, if I wasn't prudently constrained to the confines of my desk.

Last night made me feel like a college student again. I worked hard, hard, procrastinated, ate mac and cheese which I fortuitously found while cleaning out my food cabinets, worked some more, got sleepy, fell asleep on the floor on my yoga mat, woke up crabby and languidly, got my second wind, and stayed up till after two finishing my stuff. I actually managed to get all my stuff packed up into places. Not necessarily appropriate places -- my dishes are in my rolling suitcase -- but places nonetheless. I don't suppose that sounds so very surprising, but it was when I was looking at it in its half-finished state.

I received a call from a certain sultry madam last night as I was clambering amongst my piles of junk and hauling my assorted furniture to the sidewalk. I had my doubts in the past (not in an insulting way, I assure you), but now I'm convinced that this is the kind of woman Jessie falls for double quick. (sigh) I suppose it's a good thing we live this far apart, and soon to be farther. Shiva knows I've had troubles with this in the past.

Bah and humbug, all in one tidy package.

Nevertheless, I rather hoped I could ask her to come to the party this evening or tomorrow, but in hinting oh so subtly at this option I became aware that this is the last weekend before Christmas (!) and that no one should be attempting to cross state borders when the level of pre-holiday alarm is this high. That's just asking for trouble, man.

The fact, remains, however, that I still have no clue who actually is coming tonight, because none of you stinking bastards that I invited deigned to respond in any way. Except Anna, from whom I received a guestbook entry a few minutes ago. So now, I must humiliate myself and everyone else by calling you out by name, like so many reindeer:

On Plastron, on Spooky, on Bolo, on Charlotte;

(dammit, I need at least four more reindeer; time to start randomly linking)

On WiGU, on Straight Dope, on Quintzee, on, um, harlot.

Ah, one thing I've glossed over recently is the fact that once I'm done with this job and moving around and on the road and so on, I will most assuredly not be writing or checking up here at all regularly. I don't even know when I'll have internet access again. I'll probably check up on my email and maybe drop a quick entry around Christmastime, but once I get to Arizona who knows how things will turn out. You probably already realize this but I thought I'd put it down in writing just in case the slower of us fail to pick up on every nuance. :D

Now let me see, anything else? Oh yeah, I lost my T pass between yesterday at 4 and today at quarter to eight. Had to walk to work today. That T pass and my credit card are probably raising hell together somewhere, making obscenely outrageous purchases and traveling all over the MBTA-serviced Boston area.

Damn them.

10:19 a.m. - 2002-12-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

polarity
annanotbob2
atwowaydream
gomeny
planetpink
fa11
astralounge
shot-of-tea
banana3159
o-twinkle-o
sparkspark
evilyoyo
marn
teenmommie
graagh
shevdevil
nessa24601
idiot-milk
onepinksock
moonshine76
linguafranca
giallothang
friskyseal
annanotbob
leotard
trapeze-act
killsbury
plastroncafe
jwinokur
Andrew
seattle-rain
boombasticat
do-dolen