outer-jessie's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

shiny new shoebox

Airbnb gods help me, I've found a place. A place I failed to vet very well, because guess what? It's in one of the scarier parts of the city. Nice job, fruity pebbles for brains!

I got so anxious about finding some kind of place to live that I jumped at the chance to live in this fairly inexpensive place with what seem to be pretty cool roommates. I looked at Trulia's crime map for the area and found it to be in the green spots - low crime activity. Cool, cool. Sign me up! What I failed to realize is that all around this place, in pretty much all directions except toward the highway, the neighborhood is RED, RED, RED! Abort mission, fool! But it's too late, because I already made my request and was accepted and paid my first very large payment, half of which I'll lose if I renege. Damn me and my impatience!

I should be grateful, and I ammmmm, because they were cool with having the cats there and offered to pick me up from the train station if it's late. Which, of course, does not say much about their faith in their neighbors to not victimize this short victim-looking white person. But I can drive my car to and from work, I *guess*, even though I'm only a ten-minute walk from a bus stop on a route that would take me right to where I need to go (to pick up another bus to get to work). But oh well. I guess I can get used to driving on scary real-city highways.

I just hope they weren't shitting me about how cool this place supposedly is. I'm going to check it out on Wednesday, and I really hope it's nice.

6:12 p.m. - 2014-11-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

fa11
shot-of-tea
alethia
atwowaydream
Andrew
linguafranca
astralounge
annanotbob2
friskyseal
jwinokur
graagh
marn
boombasticat
evilyoyo