outer-jessie's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

planning

I got an email a few moments ago, directed to the group of us science education majors at the U of A. It alerted us to the fact that the time of the cognition in science education class would be changed to Tuesdays from 4:15 to 6:45.

You know what this means, don't you? My first class!

I very much appreciate the lessening of my uncertainty. Having a plan is very important for me. It doesn't have to be a set-in-stone unalterable plan, just a plan, a direction, a focus. Cognition in science education! I'm so excited.

In other news, my grandfather is going in for surgery on Friday to deal with some clogging in his arteries. The same problem I'm dealing with in my shower drain, I suspect (and Liquid Plumber didn't help). I'm not the least bit worried about it, which makes me wonder. Usually, the things I worry about incessantly are the things that never happen. You can't reason that backwards into thinking that the things you don't worry about will happen, but of course you do anyway.

In other other news, I just purchased the Schoolhouse Rock 30th anniversary video for a friend's Christmas present. My teeny closet is stacked with boxes, as I am doing a tremendous job with the pre-Christmas Christmas shopping. I am very proud. Did I tell you I already purchased a splendid gift for my hardest-to-buy-for godfather uncle? Hm...now off on a tangent...this godfather of mine has been divorced twice and is now married to another man. And he was a rock star, and now a soap opera music director. So that's why I'm an atheist!

You know what I really need to figure out how to do? Insert lines between my tangents. I'm perfectly aware that these entries don't flow in any linear direction, and I'm happy with that, but I shudder to think what all the screeching and halting and turning on ones heel is doing to the poor readers' brains.

Alack, how sad for us all, since I have no intention of actually going forth and learning this brain-saving device.

Rob showed me a picture of myself at about seventeen or eighteen last night. I was much thinner then. I'd have to say I've put on about fifteen pounds since graduating high school. Those were my pre-birth control years. I'm happy to not have to worry about conceiving and happy to not have to fiddle with contraceptive devices in bed and more or less satisfied with my weight, but...it's hard to look at yourself five years younger and fifteen pounds lighter. It's bad enough comparing and contrasting yourself and other people, but yourself and your younger self? That's just not fair.

*sigh* Is any twenty-two-year-old as obsessed with aging as I am? I already worry about my breasts sagging, and my skin wrinkling, and my hair falling out, and liver spots poking out in grotesque ways...everything except gray hairs. I think I'll look cool with all white hair. I'm not saying I'll be as cool as Marn, but...something to strive for, eh?

*screeeeech, halt, turn on heel*

I'm so excited about Christmas shopping. I hope it gets just eeeeeever so slightly nippier so Rob and I can wander Harvard Square with scarves and gloves and red noses and hot chocolate. I'm thrilled to be going into Wordsworth's children's bookstore and physically picking out Clifford books for Abigail, rather than putting them into my electronic shopping basket at Target.com.

Halloween is tomorrow, but I'm not really expecting a big splash. I would don Annaliese's hair and get myself up as a punk rocker or something (like in the good old days of the 80s, when "punk rocker" meant nothing to me beyond shiny clothes and hot pink hair, aka Jem), but doing that and then having no trick-or-treaters to see it would be too depressing for my empathy to handle. I'd feel like I was looking at someone else and pitying their plight, rather than my own, and thus I'd feel worse...anyway, bad idea, skip that. There's always my belated All Saint's Day celebration late Friday night.

After Halloween we'll be barreling toward Thanksgiving and Rob's birthday, which happen to coincide this year. Thanksgiving is a fun holiday, although it's been tougher since Rob and I unified. No. That's not right. Last year at this time was when my parents came to Cambridge and invited him to Thanksgiving, after we had thought we'd do things separately as always. So he ended up going to his sister's, then coming to my grandmother(s)' later. So we didn't really do it together. I wonder how we'll arrange it this year? Especially as it's also his birthday. What a mess! We'll probably have to have dinner at Allison's and then come out to my grandparents' later. How awful...it'll be really quiet there already, as my cousins will be in London, so it'll just be my parents, grandparents and brother and sister. But we can't not go see Rob's family...ugh. It's going to have to be visit one place, eat at another. This is the worst part about the holidays, which I never had to deal with before: screwing over somebody for somebody else.

Onward!

After Thanksgiving, I'm taking Friday off so Rob and I can celebrate his birthday correctly. We'll probably go back to Maggiano's for the sleepy warm maroon dining experience we so enjoy, then break out the DVD player properly and watch one of the *cough* thirteen DVDs I bought him for birthday/Christmas. Just one. The other twelve will be saved for Christmas. (shhhh, don't tell)

All right, all right, that's enough of my planning. It's not like I'm going to forget all the things I've been thinking, and you people don't need to hear all this. Here, go...go eat a lollipop or something. Forget this ever happened.

God, my neck feels all spiky again. This only happens at work, when I have seven hours of downtime to kill and nothing to think about but all the things I have to do. I really rather think this stress is bad for my neck.

Hm. What else can I buy online?

11:01 a.m. - 2002-10-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

polarity
annanotbob2
atwowaydream
gomeny
planetpink
fa11
astralounge
shot-of-tea
banana3159
o-twinkle-o
sparkspark
evilyoyo
marn
teenmommie
graagh
shevdevil
nessa24601
idiot-milk
onepinksock
moonshine76
linguafranca
giallothang
friskyseal
annanotbob
leotard
trapeze-act
killsbury
plastroncafe
jwinokur
Andrew
seattle-rain
boombasticat
do-dolen