outer-jessie's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I vote!

Gah. Double gah. My candidate for the democratic nomination lost last night to a candidate who opposes gay marriage. This is the only issue I really and truly care about. And both candidates now, republican and democrat, oppose it.

Grr. At least the democrat opposes the death penalty. *sigh* But I almost don't want to vote for her at all, seeing how I disagree with her gay marriage stance. It makes me mad.

Dammit. Oh, and I'm an idiot, because we haven't had a democrat governor in Massachusetts since 1986. Shut up.

Oh well, enough politics. I'm just barely past the glow of being a voter. I'm a voter! I think I'll vote all the time. But not for people who are against gay rights. Looks like the Green party candidate is the one for me. That sucks. She'll never win.

Yeah, but seriously, enough politics.

It's almost eleven, which means it's almost eight in California. In another hour I'll try calling the cab service and make reservations to get picked up from the airport. This is my last major concern about this trip...and I'm sure I've mentioned this before. I tried calling the guy a few days ago and his cell phone was all sucky, and he yelled at me to speak up as if it was my fault he couldn't hear me. I have doubts, I tell you, major doubts. The worst thing of all would be to be done with all the interviews, and then not be able to get home because some stupid asshole couldn't get me to the airport on time.

I have this problem, you see. I tend to imagine the mean things people might do to me. Sometimes when I'm walking down the street I get so ANGRY with the people who could, theoretically, attack me, that I almost send myself into a preemptive rage and prepare to fight back. It's quite the little psychosis. I suppose it also serves as a defense mechanism, in some cases, but why am I already mad at the cabbie who doesn't get me to the airport on time?

I've booked a little weekend getaway for me and Rob for our anniversary. It'll be my first stay in a bed and breakfast; I'm not accustomed to such luxury. I'm looking forward to spending some time in the cool air up at the north shore, and wandering around Salem at Halloweentime, and picking fresh apples at an orchard. I'll try to make everything autumnal: I'll bring warm sweaters, light spice-scented candles, eat soup, collect leaves. I really love the fall. I'll miss it a lot if I end up living in Arizona for a few years.

Oh! I got my free crock pot yesterday! I belong to a lot of survey sites, many of which offer rewards for doing the surveys. One in particular, that I've belonged to for several years, offers a point reward system that you cash in for valuable prizes, like ya do. So I cashed in for a crock pot at long last, and I can't wait to cook something long and slow in it. I just have no idea what. Rob and I aren't big beef eaters so it's almost a big fat waste, since we probably won't make a lot of beef stews. But that's ok. I think I'll get the thingy that lets you make bread in it, because how cool would that be?

Our dance lesson last night was one half ridiculous and one half frustration. I was the ridiculous, Rob was the frustration. We were doing only some very basic intro-foxtrot kinds of things -- things which make me go all stupid and twirl myself backwards around the room in the wrong direction. Good-naturedly, of course. No one appreciates a bad-tempered fool. Which, coincidentally, was what Rob was going for. When we got home he did everything we had learned fairly well; he just couldn't do it in class. It was moving too fast for him, or so he claimed, even though he appeared to have picked it all up. But it was just the first class, and we arrived on the dot of when it started, so next time we'll get there a little early, after a brisk walk and a beer for Rob. I think he'll do much better if his nerves are deadened with alcohol. Ok, I know it sounds horrible that I'm prescribing booze for what ails him, but he's 32, not 7.

Although sometimes it's hard to tell. *ba dum CHING!*

I'm kidding. I jest. I hope you do understand how much I love him. Anger and sarcasm are just SO much easier to write about without sounding like a flighty flaky fool. It's a curse, but one I embrace, because I just happen to be angry a lot of the time. I'm also ridiculously happy a lot of the time too, but I don't tell you about that, because it doesn't translate well into something, you know, interesting.

The Straight Dope message boards have been down since yesterday. It's anyone's guess how many games of triple quintzee I've played since then.

I'd like to end this with a reminiscence and a short cry for lost youth. I used to hate, HATE politics and any mention of them when I was a kid. Not even a very young kid, like sixteen, seventeen. I saw them as signifying the adult world, the height of inanity, the selling of ones soul to a dreary existence of things which are meaningless on the grand scale. And now look at me. LOOK at me. The Jessie of then would abhor the Jessie of now. But that's too damn bad. The Jessie of then had no idea about these things. She had no concept of how many people's lives could be affected by who was voted into office. She had no concept of a lot of things. So, Jessie of the past, yes I do vote, and yes I do pay taxes. And yes, I'm still you.

10:42 a.m. - 2002-09-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

polarity
annanotbob2
atwowaydream
gomeny
planetpink
fa11
astralounge
shot-of-tea
banana3159
o-twinkle-o
sparkspark
evilyoyo
marn
teenmommie
graagh
shevdevil
nessa24601
idiot-milk
onepinksock
moonshine76
linguafranca
giallothang
friskyseal
annanotbob
leotard
trapeze-act
killsbury
plastroncafe
jwinokur
Andrew
seattle-rain
boombasticat
do-dolen