outer-jessie's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Commence with the out-freaking

With this new job, comes a whole slew of things to do that must be done whilst I'm all alone and in a rush. I am just about to realize this, and just about, as a consequence, to freak the fuck out.

The job itself, I must say, I am quite proud of. I'll be teaching math at a tribal college, which I am so psyched about. The idea that I myself will be a Faculty Member is so exciting, and I'll get to put into action all the things I've been learning about and trying during my extended graduate career (which has yet to come to a close, yet another thing that must be done with haste in the upcoming days and weeks and months).

But the sad thing is that this job is so very far from Tucson that it's impossible for me to stay, so I must go. G has another semester, possibly two, here, so she will be here without me. But, to add whipped cream to my sundae of despair, she is about to leave for three weeks for an institute in another state, so I will be facing whatever is coming, and all the preparations it requires, on my own. These include:

Starting the new job, remotely for now, beginning next week.
Figuring out what I'm supposed to do in this new job.
Moving from this apartment to a smaller apartment for G to live in while I'm gone, sometime before the end of the month.
Packing and dividing all our accumulated crap from the last four years and beyond.
Unpacking G's half of the crap so her new apartment is not incredibly sad and lonely when she gets back from her institute.
Finding a new place for me to live in New State of Residence.
Visiting New State of Residence and meeting my fellow Faculty Members face to pimply face (mine).
Transferring all my important correspondence to my new address, once I have one.
Setting up utilities and internet in the new address.
Probably buying some new clothes to replace my horrible, horrible existing wardrobe.
Getting a new car, either for G or me, since we only have the one between us now.
Carting myself to New State of Residence and settling into the new place before the non-remote part of the job starts.
Somehow finishing my dissertation and my other summer work before all hell breaks loose/the next semester starts.

Oh, and losing, say, twenty pounds, so I can fit into my new wardrobe and be slightly less portly. This, it turns out, is a rather time-consuming process.

Heeeeeelp meeeeeeee.

8:59 p.m. - 2011-06-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

polarity
annanotbob2
atwowaydream
gomeny
planetpink
fa11
astralounge
shot-of-tea
banana3159
o-twinkle-o
sparkspark
evilyoyo
marn
teenmommie
graagh
shevdevil
nessa24601
idiot-milk
onepinksock
moonshine76
linguafranca
giallothang
friskyseal
annanotbob
leotard
trapeze-act
killsbury
plastroncafe
jwinokur
Andrew
seattle-rain
boombasticat
do-dolen