outer-jessie's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

tragedy of tragedies

Last night I was watching a movie on Disney, and it ended, pleasantly, just in time for me to go to sleep. The credits were rolling and the closing theme was playing, and I found myself really enjoying the song. Hm, yes, I like the slow melodic piano music, the lyrics are half-meaningful, and the vocals sound a little like Jackson Five-era Michael, only a little more, I don't know, soulful and emotional. So I watched all the credits so I could get to the end and find out whose song this was. We came to the very end and I browsed through the soundtrack, and finally came to the horrifying realization that this song was by....HANSON! What's wrong with me? Hanson? Do you think I'm dying?

And now for a real tragedy, and something I couldn't put out of my mind until I decided I should put it in here.

I was waiting for a 'walk' signal at the corner of Mass Ave yesterday on my way home from work. There was a group of young girls, 14ish, standing by the exit from the T and talking. I did not intend to overhear their conversation, but when I heard one girl say "God made Adam and Eve, not Adam and Steve" I became personally involved. Another girl said, in response, "Exactly. I mean, I like you as a person, I just don't like what you do," or something like that. I wish I had said something. Well, I sorta do. In any case, I created a dialogue between us in my head on the rest of my walk home. This is what it kind of looked like.

Girl2: I like you as a person, just not what you do.

Me: What if I said I liked you as a person, but not the fact that you're black? Would that be ok?

Girl1: That's bigotry.

Me: So is what you're saying. Aren't you supposed to accept your friends for who they are? Your friend can no more change who he's attracted to than you or I can change the color of our skin.

Girl3: But being gay is wrong; God says so. God made Adam and Eve, not Adam and Steve.

Me: Have you talked to God personally? Did he tell you that?

Girl1: It's in the Bible.

Me: Well for one thing, Genesis is a creation story and in that interest, there wouldn't be two main characters who couldn't reproduce. And I don't even want to get into who "wrote" the Bible with you guys. But let's say this. You probably like a boy, right? He's the cutest in your class, he's really nice to you, he's so funny...right? Ok, let's call him Eric. Tomorrow I announce that it's immoral to love people whose names begin with any letter A through G. I say God whispered this in my ear and said anyone who loved someone whose name begins with any letter A through G will burn in hell forever. Pretty ridiculous, no?

Girl1: Yup, pretty ridiculous. (rolls her eyes cause she's talking about me)

Me: But everyone believes me because I say God said it. Everyone says you can't love Eric. But does that change your mind about him?

Girl1: Not really.

Me: No more so than the Bible can change the mind of a man or woman who loves another man or woman.

Girl2: But gay sex is so gross! (shudders)

Me: Why are you thinking about anyone else's sex? It's none of your business, why should you care?

Ok, I'm going approximately nowhere with this. I just wish I could have talked to those girls. I doubt I would have said any of this, because my ability to make a coherent argument is practically nil, but I wish I had said something. It doesn't seem right for children to be brainwashing each other, even though I know they do it all the time. Consider my freshman year of high school as exhibit A. (sigh) I detest the Church. Parents, have your kids watch Noggin on Sunday mornings instead of going to mass.

8:26 a.m. - 2001-09-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

polarity
annanotbob2
atwowaydream
gomeny
planetpink
fa11
astralounge
shot-of-tea
banana3159
o-twinkle-o
sparkspark
evilyoyo
marn
teenmommie
graagh
shevdevil
nessa24601
idiot-milk
onepinksock
moonshine76
linguafranca
giallothang
friskyseal
annanotbob
leotard
trapeze-act
killsbury
plastroncafe
jwinokur
Andrew
seattle-rain
boombasticat
do-dolen