outer-jessie's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

if a tree falls in a forest...

Hey. I'm back now after a brief hiatus. I guess you could call it the weekend. Mine was extended due to some slight havoc played on my spine. I took Friday off of work because of my inability to stand up.

I'm all better now.

I used to be a kind of philosophical person, or so I was told. I couldn't tell you what that means now. Later on I decided that philosophy doesn't matter, just like I decided that business doesn't matter, money doesn't matter, executive business suits don't matter. What matters is science and souls, in no particular order. They don't matter in the same way, either. Science is relevant because it includes all desire and ability to know the outside and inside world, which exists within and without us (to paraphrase George Harrison, if I may). And we people may not matter in the grand scheme, but we matter to ourselves and we should take care of each other.

With this in mind, I chose for myself a noble profession: one in science, expanding our knowledge of the universe, and hoping to make that knowledge accessible to anyone who cares. There are many noble professions, and many many more that are not, in my opinion. I could have been a doctor, if I didn't become so thoroughly queasy when dealing with innards; I could have been a social worker, if the very thought didn't depress me to the core; I could have been a philanthropist, if I had sufficient funds to be of service to anyone. Luckily, it's not just me alone trying to help the world. Luckily, there are billions of us out there doing what we can. Unfortunately, many of us are more interested in what we can do for ourselves than what we can do for everyone. Thank goodness that's only most of us and not all of us.

I swear I don't go around all day thinking of stuff like this. I sit down in front of these blank entries and start spewing some complete non sequitor. I'm very sleepy. I ran out of full size sheets and have been attempting to sleep on a flat twin size sheet just sort of adhered to the mattress by wishful thinking. Oh, it in no way works, and I end up cuddled against the cold and probably vile mattress surface and hoping that whatever may have infected said surface is dead by now. Yeah, that's pretty cold-hearted of me, isn't it. That's the way I tend to be when it comes to bugs and pathogens: the death wish is implied when one or the other makes its presence known to me. Let's just hope that's an understanding held by both parties.

I saw my father on Saturday at my grandmother's birthday extravaganza. Not a word nor any recognition did he spare me. No, that's not ok. None of this is ok.

I'd prefer not to end the entry with that, so give me a moment to plow through my mind. I'm glad that the semester is starting up. Fall feels to me like a very healthful time of year. My strong friends, friend really, go off to their places and the people who have gone home for the summer come back to Boston where they're within my arm's reach. True, it does mean I'll be spending more time with Harvard faculty than is probably good for me, but I could just be harboring a stereo-type that is altogether untrue. I'll get back to you on that. I can't help being afraid of a Professor of Mathematics at Harvard University. It just sounds so Owl from Winnie the Pooh. I hope there will be some Tiggers to balance out the lot.

9:50 a.m. - 2001-08-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

polarity
annanotbob2
atwowaydream
gomeny
planetpink
fa11
astralounge
shot-of-tea
banana3159
o-twinkle-o
sparkspark
evilyoyo
marn
teenmommie
graagh
shevdevil
nessa24601
idiot-milk
onepinksock
moonshine76
linguafranca
giallothang
friskyseal
annanotbob
leotard
trapeze-act
killsbury
plastroncafe
jwinokur
Andrew
seattle-rain
boombasticat
do-dolen