outer-jessie's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

oh I wish I were an Astrocamp instructor...

Yesterday, the air in Boston was heavy, wet, and thick. I breathed it in deeply and sensed a few molecules of salt water dissolved in it. I needed to go to the Cape immediately. I lured Rob there with the promise of fish and chips and fried clams and scallops.

We left a heavily fog-laden city for the even more ridiculously fog-swathed southern suburbs. I had called my mother before we left, on the off chance that she could join us for dinner after her long day of cup of water handing-outage during the marathon. When we pulled into the parking lot at Seafood Sam's, lo and behold, there she was in the Beetle! She chastized me for two things: not bringing the dresses I bought for the cruise, and pronouncing the a in "scallops" like the a in cat, instead of like "ah". She doesn't even like scallops so I don't know why she felt any invested interest, but that is not a part of this story.

We three ate our fish, chips, fried clams and scallops; the amount consumed was equivalent to a rounded Jessieful. We then proceeded to my yo's house, where my dog made no attempts to hide her preference for Rob over me. The little brat! She only loves me when I'm rubbing her belly. Or sharing my cookies.

Update: the newest weird food my dog appears to have a taste for -- oranges.

After we left my very sleepy yo, Rob and I went stopped by his dad's to pick up Rob's taxes and leave some homemade gingersnaps. Then we picked up some of Rob's clothes at his mom's, and woke her up in the process, and for our last stop, checked to see if Rob had gotten any faxes at Dunkin Donuts. He gets faxes for his *mortgage* job at his *Dunkin Donuts* job. Anyway, thus having concluded all of Rob's chores for the next day, we called it a night and went home.

And I skipped class again today because I was working on backups (and didn't wanna go), the result being I can go home two hours earlier than I would have, and we'll have more time to enjoy ourselves at Marche(accent on the e)! Marche(accent on the e) is the place I went with my friend, at the Prudential Center. Wait, did I tell you about that? It's supposed to simulate an open-air market in France/Montreal? It's a lot of fun, and last time I was there I got a coupon for twenty percent off my next meal if I show up on a Tuesday, which today just happens to be. Woo! Go me.

Unfortunately, I just now finished my lunch so won't be hungry for another four or five hours, but Rob brought his Playstation over (finally) so we can play the South Park game. Woo!

I also talked to the program director at Astrocamp on the phone today. As far as phone interviews go, it was equally as nerve-wracking as the one I had with the Space Telescope people way back in the day, but about twenty times more comfortable. The environment there *sounds* perfectly exactly like what I'm looking for. I can't say for sure yet, until I go see for myself (tentative plans to do so in October, woohoo), but I really think this is going to be good. Maybe not good for Rob and me, but good for just...me.

But now I have to remember not to blow off my day to day plans in favor of building up my plans for the future. Present plans include the cruise, the yearly trip to upstate New York, finding a gym I where I can swim, no poem intended, and buying an air conditioner. Woo.

We are slowly trying to make ourselves obsolete here. At least, the two of us who know stuff about creating scripts and automating things, are creating scripts and automations that will put the rest of us out of business, as it were. As it will be. Take the dep, for example. Her major daily tasks are about to be swallowed up by a computerized version of her. What will she do all day now?

Probably the very same thing I do all day now; namely, read the comics, lurk on message boards, and annoy you fine online personages. Hey, I'm a fine online personage! I hope she doesn't take up annoying me.

What do I care? In nine months I'll be somewhere else. Doing other things. Other things I actually WANT to do, which will make an actual DIFFERENCE in the world and in the lives of young people, and will actually make me HAPPY. Ah, beautiful concept, that.

1:34 p.m. - 2002-04-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

polarity
annanotbob2
atwowaydream
gomeny
planetpink
fa11
astralounge
shot-of-tea
banana3159
o-twinkle-o
sparkspark
evilyoyo
marn
teenmommie
graagh
shevdevil
nessa24601
idiot-milk
onepinksock
moonshine76
linguafranca
giallothang
friskyseal
annanotbob
leotard
trapeze-act
killsbury
plastroncafe
jwinokur
Andrew
seattle-rain
boombasticat
do-dolen