outer-jessie's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

a multitude of sorries

Sing it with me, kids!

Ohhh, Jessie's diploma is on its way,

They're sending it from school;

She may not be rich but she's a little gay,

And last time I checked, gay was cool!"

Kind of reminiscent of Davy Crocket, no? That's how it's played in my head, at least. The lyrics don't make a lot of sense, but Jessie, she is not one for rhyming. The real message here is that the diploma is being sent, and I feel fine. Success at last! I'm a bonafide bachelor of the arts, somehow, even though I majored in astrophysics. Do love those arts, though.

And now, a true story:

Once upon a time, a girl saw the movie The Lord of the Rings, and she didn't like it. She rolled her eyes excessively. She thought Gandolf was cool but did a lot of stupid and predictable things that pissed her off. She was anti everyone's fake accents, and thought the light-hearted lovable antics of the troublesome duo, names unknown by her, were trite. She enjoyed the scenery and Cate Blanchet very much, and would have like to be an elf, but all in all, as far as the movie went, she didn't get it. What makes a ring so powerful? She doesn't know. Why do hobbits have such huge hairy feet? She doesn't know. Were those ugly plentiful bad guys made of TREES? She doesn't know. She wonders if she should have read the books, but then she recalls that she tried once, and could not get further than the first chapter. Even though that was The Hobbit and not the Triology, she did not see the need to struggle through more of this when there were other wonders to read.

I know you're all enraged and indignant at the girl's reaction to the movie, because you're all big LOTR geeks. It is insufferable. But wait, there's more. (sigh) That girl has nothing to look forward to but scorn and the wrath of all because of her unpopular opinion of the movie, and I know she will suffer...because she, dear friends, she is I. Shocked, aren't you?!? You didn't see that one coming.

Juuuuust kidding. Of course you saw it coming. But I really didn't like the movie that much, kept checking my watch, didn't feel sad when people died. Except for that big evil creature, the one that looked like he was made of Play-Dough. I was sorry to see him perish.

Rob and I are too cool to talk in theaters. Unfortunately, that does not go for the rest of the world. Ever.

Apologies I Have to Make:

1) I'm sorry I didn't like the movie. I wanted to. I thought I would.

2) I'm sorry I once said that I detest the Church. That wasn't fair, and not really true. It's true that I don't often like the negative influence religion can have on people, especially very young and suggestible ones, but even I have to admit that religion, and the Church, serve a valuable purpose. It was mean-spirited of me to go off like I did, even if it was the Church that I held responsible for what I saw.

3) I'm sorry I'm so mean to Rob sometimes, because he doesn't deserve it. He deserves my whole-hearted love and kindness, because that is all he gives. I wish my heart was as pure and strong as his. My resolution this year is to be good to him. I haven't made a resolution in years, so know how much I mean it. It's too easy for me to take good people for granted.

4) I'm sorry I don't let my inner child out to play enough. She's been bored with my new life, but she's been very good and patient, and I should indulge her when I can. I'm the one who always says you must hold your life accountable to your own judgement when it's through.

5) I'm sorry I'm not more of what I should be for other people.

That's all I have to say about that. Now I feel like shit. (wry smile) If you missed yesterday's entry, please have a look at it and tell me your opinion about my teacherhood. I don't mind criticism, I promise.

2:04 p.m. - 2002-01-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

polarity
annanotbob2
atwowaydream
gomeny
planetpink
fa11
astralounge
shot-of-tea
banana3159
o-twinkle-o
sparkspark
evilyoyo
marn
teenmommie
graagh
shevdevil
nessa24601
idiot-milk
onepinksock
moonshine76
linguafranca
giallothang
friskyseal
annanotbob
leotard
trapeze-act
killsbury
plastroncafe
jwinokur
Andrew
seattle-rain
boombasticat
do-dolen