outer-jessie's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Famously fanatical at last

Although I have accomplished zero percent of the work that needs accomplishing today, it is still a good day. A day in which the kind of thing you always hope for, but never really think will happen, happens.

Today, I am a dangerous radical. A Person of Interest. A liberal ne'er-do-well corrupting the academy. I found out that my work on a certain project has been identified and criticized by a certain group, namely the National Academy of Scholars. If you don't know them, don't be fooled by the generic name; they are self-proclaimed "watchdogs" of higher education, ie. the kind of group you contact when your professor's assignment about the role of racism in welfare politics oppresses your patriotic conservative beliefs.

How thrilled am I?

This is the big time! Being called out by the right wing is the fulfillment of all my most subversive dreams! Never would I have dared to hope that *my work* could be targeted by an anti-PC group of elitists! WOOOOOOO! I feel like I've just won the Nobel Prize!

Obviously, not everyone agrees with my politics. Not everyone believes that society tends to privilege the privileged at the expense of the under-privileged. Some people believe that things work fine, that the US is past discrimination, and that we should just forget all the "bad things" that happened in the past because they have no bearing on the present. Fine for you! Go right ahead! But as an educator focused on working with a minority group, not only am I aware of injustices but also committed to bringing them to light in an ever-vigilant effort to overcome them.

But that's just me.

3:02 p.m. - 2009-04-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

polarity
annanotbob2
atwowaydream
gomeny
planetpink
fa11
astralounge
shot-of-tea
banana3159
o-twinkle-o
sparkspark
evilyoyo
marn
teenmommie
graagh
shevdevil
nessa24601
idiot-milk
onepinksock
moonshine76
linguafranca
giallothang
friskyseal
annanotbob
leotard
trapeze-act
killsbury
plastroncafe
jwinokur
Andrew
seattle-rain
boombasticat
do-dolen