outer-jessie's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

You get used to it

So...I just have one question.

Why

Am I being rejected for every job I apply for?

And I don't just mean, "Why does my application for astronaut keep being turned down?" I'm talking the full gamut. I've applied for things that I am clearly qualified for, amazingly qualified for, and I've never gotten a call. I had one interview. Out of, let me check, yes, 30 applications I've submitted, just one interview. And they never called me back. There was one I applied for last week that I'm perfect for. At the time, they had had one other applicant. Now I don't know you guys, but I'm thinking that between me and this ONE other candidate, I would think that I probably have a pretty good chance of at least being interviewed for this job. The guy said they wanted to have someone hired within two weeks. It's been a week. What the fuck.

And then on top of the 30 apps I've submitted, there are the ten temp jobs I've applied for through an agency. Almost half of them have already rejected me. What the actual fuck, I am serious, WHAT.

Now then. Other than that clump of misery, we're doing okay. We have found housing, although it won't be available for three weeks. We've been holing up in this rando's house for almost a month now, and we're expecting to stay here until our apartment is ready. Our long-term roommate just left yesterday, and I'm actually lonely without him here. He was a good guy. He even watched our cats for us when we left town for a few days (paid work thing for G). The cats even took to waiting outside his closed door for him - given that they're afraid of all people and especially dudes, this was quite remarkable.

We'll see how they do next week when three guys show up to stay for the night. More of our host's guests.

Unfortunately, our host herself will be coming back to the apartment next week too. We'll have to live with her in her weird space for two weeks. I'm kind of hoping that when we send her the payment for our extension, she'll opt to stay where she is. It's a possibility. I don't think she really likes it here.

Me, I'll be sad when we have to leave this town for our new place. I'd gotten to like this town, and for a short time I thought we were going to stay here. It's good though, to be moving to where G's work is. She'll be close enough to ride her bike, which, although said bike is still in Nebraska, she is excited about. This is the place she's wanted since before we moved here. I was less thrilled about it, but then I saw what else was out there, so I caved.

Luckily, we'll be really close to some beautiful places when we move a little further south. Great beaches, trails, rocky islands where sea lions hang out. Unluckily, we'll be even further from the nearest big city, which is the location of our closest Trader Joe's, aka my mac and cheese dealer. I tried a substitute macaroni and cheese that I found at Safeway, thinking I could maybe make a go of more local wares. I've never had a bad macaroni and cheese experience, until that moment.

Checking out one of these online freelancing sites. The jobs posted are very strange. Ah well. Wish me luck.

4:03 p.m. - 2015-07-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

fa11
shot-of-tea
alethia
atwowaydream
Andrew
linguafranca
astralounge
annanotbob2
friskyseal
jwinokur
graagh
marn
boombasticat
evilyoyo