outer-jessie's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the day that almost wasn't

To think of all the things that must have happened here -- and I can only see this. The history of this place is really just a matter of my imagination playing with what little we've been taught. This land is old, once lived on by people who no longer exist, and back then this was a very different place. Thick woods with hidden clearings, then wide fields and little houses, then stately brick buildings and broad streets, and what do we have to show for any of that now? Cars parked on rooftops, cinder block walls, flat green buildings with METROPOLITAN PIPES AND SUPPLIES CO plastered on them in big orange letters. Why must everything be so ugly? I'd like to be able to look out the window and remember people from the past, as they were, and see things the way they saw them. I have to close my eyes to a lot of things to do that, which you would have to do everywhere. It's just strange to compare that picture with this one. I wish I could see this as beautiful, but it's not.

That took me so long to think through that I totally lost what I was trying to say. Ah well.

In a dream last night, I realized that it was skunks getting into my outside trash, not mice. For some reason, this struck me as a stroke of genius. *giggle* It's not all that much of an insight, but in the dream it was like solving world hunger. I'm glad I've been able to explain the nightly skunky odors, but it seems to me that the less skunking around my nose, the better. I hearby demand that the neighbor who commandeered our trash barrel give it back at once.

I feel a-ok. Last night I went to bed with a headache SO SEVERE that I couldn't even bounce on my trampoline for fear of the brain jiggles. Normally such things dissipate during the night, but before I even fully woke up this morning, I could feel my brain trying to claw its way out of my eye. If you're guessing that pleased me not at all, you are correct. You see that zit there? (pretend you do) Not a zit. Brains. I was on the verge of calling into work, before I realized, I can't call in for a *headache*, for Christ's sake. So I pouted my way to work and popped a few Tylenol when I got here, and now I feel fine. I'm surprised, because the pills I took yesterday did nothing for me, and a little disappointed, because I had planned to go home at noon if I still felt like anus. Not that I like feeling like anus, but I do like going home.

A couple of days ago I got a card from one of my friends. Accompanying the card were two drawings, one of Cheesejoe, and one of Reggie the Wedgie. I have no choice now but to obtain a gold membership, so I can show these astounding works of pure talent to you. I shall provide captions. You shall provide refreshments. Someone will take notes. We'll all get really drunk. One of you will attempt to make out with Reggie, and shall forever be known as the one who kissed ass.

Does anybody out there really think that people are remaining abstinent out of fear? I've never seen anybody choose abstinence at all. No, I take it back, I knew ONE person. One person out of all the people I've ever met. Everyone else who wasn't having sex was abstinent through no choice of their own.

Whew, where did that come from. Oh yeah, one of the coworkers was talking about someone who was appointed to the...um, AIDS committee?...who believes the best tactic is pushing abstinence rather than condom use. That's all I have to say about that.

Jesus Christ, is it only ten? I should've stayed home.

9:09 a.m. - 2002-01-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

polarity
annanotbob2
atwowaydream
gomeny
planetpink
fa11
astralounge
shot-of-tea
banana3159
o-twinkle-o
sparkspark
evilyoyo
marn
teenmommie
graagh
shevdevil
nessa24601
idiot-milk
onepinksock
moonshine76
linguafranca
giallothang
friskyseal
annanotbob
leotard
trapeze-act
killsbury
plastroncafe
jwinokur
Andrew
seattle-rain
boombasticat
do-dolen