outer-jessie's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I think I can, I think I can

I said I'd get back to you and then I didn't. I'm such a filthy liar. Not on purpose though. I was having myself a lovely little Thursday.

I took no fewer than three excursions out of the building yesterday. One of my coworkers' last day is today, which we celebrated yesterday. Meaning 1) I had to go to an ATM to fetch cash for her gift; 2) I offered to run to the mall to purchase said gift (and a pair of running sneakers for self); and 3) we all went out to lunch together to present aforementioned gift. I think all in all I spent no more than five full hours at my desk. It was particularly appreciated due to the gorgeous weather yesterday, although the temperature being sub-70s, I would have been better prepared in jeans.

I'm pretty sure I mentioned steroids the other day without getting into how I happened to be taking them; isn't that right? Wouldn't you like to know why I'm taking them? Unless you used your amazing capacity for logical reasoning to figure it out. I went to the doctor's on Wednesday afternoon and procured a prescription of the 'roids for my unfortunate face. They do seem to be helping, alleluiah. I'm still splotchy, but my nightly 3 o'clock awakening for the reapplication of anti-itch cream was pushed back to 4 o'clock last night. A good sign, I think.

I'm starting to be nervous about taking the Physics GRE again. But noooooot quite enough to do any studying. I've promised myself that tonight when I get home and have hours and hours to kill before Rob arrives, I'll take out my physics text book and start reading it. As I should have been doing for a week now. It is with no small amount of relief that I saw today that the test is in early November rather than mid-October as I had thought; although it's just a three week difference it does allow it to be a good four months away rather than only three. But I really have to start doing something about it. My plate keeps filling and I'm not eating fast enough to keep it semi-clean.

In other news, I'll be going forth and purchasing the fabric for my flower girls dresses sometime in the next month. Then, in late August, I'll be using the fabric swatches to match flowers with my florist for the attendants, etc. Late September brings my trip to California and Arizona for meetings about my future plans, so help me, October is the month of registering for the GRE and hopefully the month of balloon flight, November is the month of taking the GRE and stressing about my results and wasting my money finding out what they are early, and December will, with any luck, be the month of departure from this fair corner of the earth. I repeat: so help me.

Which reminds me, I'd better go call my photographer and confirm that he got my last message, and the reception hall to confirm that they got my contract. Stupid change in stamp prices! That contract might be sitting in a dusty paper bin right now, along with that $800 check. But no...I do believe that check has been cashed. By whom, that is the question.

Done. The hotel has the contract, and I've left yet another message with the photographer. The fact that it's very VERY hard to actually get this man on the phone ought to be a warning to me to make any and all plans with him well well in advance. Perhaps it's really a warning that we shouldn't have chosen him at all, but I'm choosing to ignore that option, thank you very much.

I also printed out a practice test from online. I think I now possess about five practice tests, meaning that I should probably think about actually taking one. I started doing the one that I had two years ago when I was first taking the test, but for some really stupid reason I never finished it and never learned a damn thing from it. Maybe that's what I'll do tonight instead; take the old practice test and at least correct it, if not look at what I did wrong. Oh strawberry preserve me, this is going to be an uphill battle. Please let me do better than the 17th percentile, PLEASE let me do better than the 17th percentile.

If I could just double that and be in the 34th percentile, I would be so happy. Better than one third of the test-takers, woohoo!

I can do this. I can do this. It's not so bad. Maybe I'll get in the 40th percentile. Maybe I will.

Ok, I have to run to the post office now. But wait!

(personal note, of interest to none but one, to follow)

Geri, my love, I would like to refer you to this entry of mine, wherein you will find distinct evidence of my intentions to inform all of my presence in the areas I was two weeks ago. Thus, I must find the accusations in your note in my guestbook unfounded and dismiss them directly. That said, I would also like to put forth my own grievance, that your diary has become mysterious and you seem to be pulling away from it. I can't at all tell what's going on in your life right now and it makes me very sad. So tell me: how are you?

10:52 a.m. - 2002-07-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

polarity
annanotbob2
atwowaydream
gomeny
planetpink
fa11
astralounge
shot-of-tea
banana3159
o-twinkle-o
sparkspark
evilyoyo
marn
teenmommie
graagh
shevdevil
nessa24601
idiot-milk
onepinksock
moonshine76
linguafranca
giallothang
friskyseal
annanotbob
leotard
trapeze-act
killsbury
plastroncafe
jwinokur
Andrew
seattle-rain
boombasticat
do-dolen