outer-jessie's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

roughage

Somewhere in me, there is the way to finish this thing. I know I've talked here before about my writer's block, but this is like writer's constipation. You KNOW that, eventually, shit's coming out. But when, goddammit, when?

This sucker is due to my committee in 10 days. Two of those days are 12-hour workdays. Two of those days are 9-hour work days. Aaaand four of those days I'll be in Vegas. Supposedly celebrating the fact that the writing is done. Yes, that leaves two days to finish absolutely everything about this son-of-a-bitch (me). Tomorrow and Wednesday, to be specific. And today, if you can count today.

What I'm stuck on at the moment is the data. Getting my data to become a chapter of results and findings. I know what the results are, I know what the findings are. I know what data I need to show it. But I can't get it together. It's too. Fucking. Hard.

I know I'm going to do it. I HAVE to do it. I just don't know when, or how.

My strategy from yesterday (which was supposed to have been a good 20-hour day and was probably more like a 4-hour day) was to look at the pieces of my data and just write what I saw in them, relative to a theme. This dialogue shows this. This dialogue highlights that. This actually worked pretty well for me; I spent my full four-ish hours doing that, which was a lot more than I'd done with it in the two or so days prior. I think I just need to go back to the data and just keep doing that, and doing it again, and again, and again, for hours upon hours until it's done. I just really hate the whole "hours upon hours" part. Because there aren't hours upon hours left, and I'm getting increasingly desperate.

This thing doesn't need to be perfect. But it does need to BE. And that shit ain't coming unless I get some goddamn fiber up in these pipes.

Yeah, I don't know, I lost the metaphor. I have no idea what the fiber is.

1:55 p.m. - 2013-03-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Andrew
annanotbob2
linguafranca
friskyseal
fa11
atwowaydream
shot-of-tea
astralounge
jwinokur
graagh
marn
boombasticat
evilyoyo