outer-jessie's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Walkathon

I am boring lately, am I not? Well, what's the elixir for curing boringness if not more boringness. Oh my yes. If you haven't guessed already (by choosing the most tedious of topics you've ever read about), I am embarking on a pre-marathon-walk training routine and bringing you all along for the ride. All one of you.

I have a sneaking suspicion I have already used that first line in a previous entry. Apparently this is not the first time I have been admittedly boring.

Well anyway, I have decided to defy my slovenly body and make it walk 26-point-whatevermany miles this December. Why? Because I'm turning 30 in January, that's why. And because I'm darn tootin' that I can do it. Even though there is absolutely no evidence to support this notion. I can walk about five miles comfortably, or rather I have been able to do so in the relatively near past - say, ten pounds or so ago. I think if I practice, which I intend to do more frequently once the temperature drops below 90, I can get longer and longer distances and jump that 26-some-odd hurdle.

Case in point - I walked to Walmart yesterday. True, it was not nearly as scenic a route as the gorgeous north end of the road we live on, but it was decidedly more downhill, and that is a plus, when one is feeble and lazy. But sadly it barely scraped past a mile and a half, all told. And it took me 70 minutes, including the time it took me to buy a handful of things at Walmart itself. Well hell. I'm going to have to do a lot better than that, that is PATHETIC!

If I start the marathon at 6, I must be done by no later than 3 (or I won't get me medal). That gives me 9 hours to complete about 27 miles, so I must average 3 miles per hour. Ergo, I better get around to tripling my speed, or spending less time shopping, if I expect to bring home something shiny the day of. That's depressing.

Well, ok. Here's the plan, Stan. This week is pretty well shot, because I have a friend coming down tonight and then I'm leaving for a work trip on Thursday morning, but as soon as I can reasonably manage it I'm going to time myself and see how far I can get in one hour. Then it's upon me to get my ass home, because my girl is recovering from a very painful ear surgery and is on pain meds that will probably make her crash if she drives. So that's a pretty good motivator right there.

Other things going on, hm let's see. Girl is in pain, I am drowning in work that I keep refusing to not really work on, fall is coming, and life is really rather good.

3:29 p.m. - 2009-09-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

polarity
annanotbob2
atwowaydream
gomeny
planetpink
fa11
astralounge
shot-of-tea
banana3159
o-twinkle-o
sparkspark
evilyoyo
marn
teenmommie
graagh
shevdevil
nessa24601
idiot-milk
onepinksock
moonshine76
linguafranca
giallothang
friskyseal
annanotbob
leotard
trapeze-act
killsbury
plastroncafe
jwinokur
Andrew
seattle-rain
boombasticat
do-dolen