outer-jessie's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

\"I love in Connecticut\"

It came to my attention last night, amongst my daily rovings in the land of bad sitcoms and worse advertisements, that my uncle's one hit has made it to the big time. Oh yes. It's in a new VoiceStream commercial, the ones where Jamie Lee Curtis ingeniously solves people's problems using cell phone service. "Obsession" is playing in the background at the dance club where a slutty underaged chick makes out with some lusty guy while her dad listens in. Oh yeah. It's heart-warming.

Would you like to know whose stimulating poetry is being taught as exemplary to high school students in Georgia? Would you like to just guess? Well too bad, because I'm going to tell you. Why, it's Tupac Shakur! Hang on, I'll let that sink in...............

And yes, this does further my indignation about the current state of poetry education. And it strengthens my belief that people who think they can write poetry, can't.

But then again, it's Georgia. And then AGAIN, I only heard about this from a second-hand email from someone I don't know. So, take it with a grain of NaCl.

I think I should invest in some Mylanta. Just thinking about this teaching venture chars my esophagus.

So much to think about, so little money.

I mean time.

I'm going to need a car. I can't put it off any longer. If I end up somewhere in the southwest, where public transportation is a thing of whimsical fantasy, I will need a set of wheels. I've never owned a car before. Somehow I was suckered into believing that I forfeited the right to buy a car because I chose to go to Spain. A lot of crap, because I paid for Spain myself, but it doesn't matter. I don't regret not having a car (although I *am* still seething about the school bus through high school thing). However, I can't drive worth a shit. A pigeon shit. You can blame this on my car accident in early childhood, or on the fact that no one thinks I can drive well so I've internalized that, or you can blame it on the fact that I just suck at driving.

God, diaryland chat rocks and rolls.

9:24 a.m. - 2002-03-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

polarity
annanotbob2
atwowaydream
gomeny
planetpink
fa11
astralounge
shot-of-tea
banana3159
o-twinkle-o
sparkspark
evilyoyo
marn
teenmommie
graagh
shevdevil
nessa24601
idiot-milk
onepinksock
moonshine76
linguafranca
giallothang
friskyseal
annanotbob
leotard
trapeze-act
killsbury
plastroncafe
jwinokur
Andrew
seattle-rain
boombasticat
do-dolen