outer-jessie's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

understanding understanding

Two deaths among the very small faculty body at work, a death in the family, and a shooting at the university. It's been a weird, sad week.

On the periphery.

In the foreground, things are lovely. We are happy, things are going well with work and school, we spent good quality time with friends this week, and our love is strong and consuming.

It feels strange to try to rectify the two disparate perspectives. Why can I be happy if I look with this eye and be sad if I look with the other one? Likewise, how is it that I feel good about things in my everyday life, yet guilty and angry if I look at them from my parents' perspective? (The same parents, and siblings, who failed to let me know that there had been a death in the family - I found out through facebook.)

Where is the internal consistency?

There are a lot of layers to life, and countless lenses through which to look at it and make sense of it. This, I think, is what makes it so hard for us to understand each other.

1:27 p.m. - 2008-10-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

polarity
annanotbob2
atwowaydream
gomeny
planetpink
fa11
astralounge
shot-of-tea
banana3159
o-twinkle-o
sparkspark
evilyoyo
marn
teenmommie
graagh
shevdevil
nessa24601
idiot-milk
onepinksock
moonshine76
linguafranca
giallothang
friskyseal
annanotbob
leotard
trapeze-act
killsbury
plastroncafe
jwinokur
Andrew
seattle-rain
boombasticat
do-dolen